UPDATE 2-Affleck, Spielberg, Bigelow among Directors Guild film nominees

Reuters Middle East

(Adds details in paragraph 3)

LOS ANGELES, Jan 8 (Reuters) - Filmmakers Steven Spielberg,

Kathryn Bigelow, Ben Affleck, Tom Hooper and Ang Lee received

nominations from the Directors Guild of America (DGA) on

Tuesday, ahead of the Oscar nominations this week.

Affleck, 40, landed his first Directors Guild film award

nomination for Iran hostage thriller "Argo," alongside fellow

U.S. directors Bigelow and Spielberg, Taiwanese director Lee and

British filmmaker Hooper.

Bigelow received a nod for her Osama bin Laden-manhunt

thriller "Zero Dark Thirty," Spielberg for his U.S. Civil

War-era drama "Lincoln," Lee for his 3D adaptation of

best-selling novel "Life of Pi" and Hooper for his screen

adaptation of hit musical "Les Miserables."

"These directors represent the highest standard of

filmmaking, and their films are a testament to artistic

achievement, innovative storytelling and the passion that

filmmakers share with their audiences," DGA President Taylor

Hackford said in a statement.

Notably absent from the list this year was director Quentin

Tarantino, whose latest film "Django Unchained," a

spaghetti-western slave retribution tale, has been gaining

awards buzz after landing five Golden Globe nods including best


Filmmaker David O. Russell also didn't get a DGA nomination,

despite his quirky comedy "Silver Linings Playbook" also

building awards steam and going into the Golden Globe awards on

Sunday with four nominations.

The DGA nominations are often a key indicator of Oscar

nominees and winners, as DGA members are often also members of

the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences, which hosts

the Oscars. The Academy Award for best picture also often goes

to the winner of the DGA's best director award.

This is the 11th DGA nomination for veteran director

Spielberg, 66, who has previously won the award for "Schindler's

List" in 1994, "Saving Private Ryan" in 1999 and who received a

DGA lifetime achievement award in 2000.

"The privilege of making 'Lincoln,' combined with this

absolutely tremendous recognition from my peers, is humbling. I

thank everyone for including me on this short list of extremely

unique and gifted filmmakers," Spielberg said in a statement.

Since 1948, there have been only six occasions where the DGA

winner has not gone on to win the Oscar for best director.

Spielberg, Bigelow, Hooper and Lee all won the top directing

honors at the Oscars after winning the DGA award.

The winner of the DGA feature film category will be revealed

at a dinner ceremony hosted by former "Frasier" star Kelsey

Grammer on Feb. 2 in Los Angeles, three weeks before the Academy


(Reporting By Piya Sinha-Roy and Eric Kelsey; Editing by Paul


By using Yahoo you agree that Yahoo and partners may use Cookies for personalisation and other purposes