13 / 13

Theresa May, 2016 - 2019

The Queen's thirteenth prime minister Theresa May will stand down on June 7, 2019. During her resignation speech, she said: "It is, and will always remain, a matter of deep regret to me that I have not been able to deliver Brexit." [Photo: PA]

The 13 prime ministers the Queen has outlasted

Danielle Stacey
Royal Correspondent

Theresa May announced on Friday that she will resign on 7 June, bringing an end to her three-year tenure as Britain’s prime minister.

In her 67-year reign, the Queen has been served by thirteen PMs and will meet her fourteenth when the results of the Conservative leadership contest are announced in mid-July.

When the then Princess Elizabeth ascended the throne in 1952, Winston Churchill oversaw her Coronation. The pair are said to have had a close relationship and it’s said that she saw him as an almost father-figure.

While the Queen has seen both the Conservative and Labour parties in power throughout her reign, she has also seen the first female PM - Margaret Thatcher - who, to date, was the longest serving.

Take a look at the 13 prime ministers the Queen has had.