Here Are The 188 Tory MPs Who Voted Against Delaying Brexit

Jasmin Gray

More than half of Tory MPs and a slew of Cabinet ministers have inflicted fresh embarrassment on Theresa May by voting against her plans to delay Brexit.

Brexit secretary Steve Barclay was among a string of government figures who opposed the move to postpone exit day by three months from March 20 to June 30.

May had sought the delay in order to allow enough time for a third meaningful vote on her Brexit deal in the hopes of finally getting it through parliament. But given the strength of division in her party over the EU, the prime minister had offered her MPs a free vote. 

Keir Starmer – Labour’s shadow Brexit secretary – called Barclay’s vote proof “that this is a government that has lost complete control”. 

International trade secretary Liam Fox, Chris Grayling and Gavin Williamson were among the other Cabinet ministers who used the free vote to vote against delaying Brexit. 

While May’s motion to postpone Brexit was passed 412 votes to 202, a total of 188 Conservative MPs voted in a bid to defeat it. 

Was your MP among them? Check out the list of which Tory MPs voted for and against the prime minister’s plans. 

188 Tory MPs Which Voted ‘Against’ May’s Plans: 

Nigel Adams 

Adam Afriyie 

Lucy Allan 

David Amess 

Stuart Andrew 

Richard Bacon

Kemi Badenoch 

Steve Baker 

Harriet Baldwin 

Stephen Barclay 

John Baron 

Henry Bellingham 

Jake Berry 

Bob Blackman 

Crispin Blunt 

Ben Bradley

Graham Brady

Suella Braverman 

Jack Brereton 

Andrew Bridgen 

Fiona Bruce 

Alex Burghart 

Conor Burns 

Alun Cairns 

William Cash 

Maria Caulfield 

Rehman Chishti 

Christopher Chope 

Jo Churchill 

Colin Clark 

Simone Clarke 

James Cleverly 

Geoffrey Clifton-Brown 

Damian Collins 

Robert Courts 

Tracey Crouch 

Chris Davies 

David T. C Davies 

Glyn Davies 

Mims Davies 

Philip Davies 

Caroline Dinenage 

Leo Docherty 

Michelle Donelan 

Nadine Dorries 

Steve Double 

Jackie Doyle-Price 

James Duddridge 

Iain Duncan Smith 

Michael Ellis

Charlie Elphicke 

George Eustice 

Nigel Evans 

David Evennett 

Michael Fabricant 

Michael Fallon 

Kevin Foster

Liam Fox

Mark Francois 

Marcus Fysh 

Nusrat Ghani 

John Glen 

Zac Goldsmith 

Helen Grant 

James Gray 

Chris Grayling 

Chris Green 

Andrew Griffiths 

Kirstene Hair 

Robert Halfon 

Luke Hall 

Mark Harper 

Rebecca Harris 

Trudy Harrison 

Simon Hart 

John Hayes 

James Heappey 

Chris Heaton-Harris

Philip Hollobone 

Adam Holloway 

Nigel Huddleston 

Eddie Hughes 

Ranil Jayawardena 

Bernard Jenkin 

Andrea Jenkyns 

Robert Jenrick 

Boris Johnson 

Caroline Johnson 

Gareth Johnson 

David Jones 

Marcus Jones 

Daniel Kawczynski 

Julian Knight 

Greg Knight 

Kwasi Kwarteng 

John Lamont 

Pauline Latham 

Andrea Leadsom 

Edward Leigh

Andrew Lewer 

Julian Lewis 

Ian Liddell-Grainger 

Julia Lopez 

Jack Lopresti 

Jonathan Lord

Tim Loughton 

Craig Mackinlay 

Rachel Maclean 

Anne Main 

Alan Mak 

Kit Malthouse 

Scott Mann 

Paul Maynard 

Stephen McPartland 

Esther McVey 

Mark Menzies 

Johnny Mercer 

Huw Merriman 

Stephen Metcalfe 

Amanda Milling 

Nigel Mills 

Damien Moore 

Penny Mourdant 

Anne-Marie Morris 

David Morris 

James Morris 

Wendy Morton 

Sheryll Murray 

Andrew Murrison 

Jesse Norman 

Neil O’Brien 

Matthew Offord 

Priti Patel 

Owen Paterson 

Mike Penning 

Andrew Percy 

Chris Philp 

Christopher Pincher 

Mark Pritchard 

Tom Pursglove 

Will Quince 

Dominic Raab 

John Redwood

Jacob Rees-Mogg 

Laurence Robertson

Mary Robinson 

Andrew Rosindell 

Douglass Ross 

Lee Rowley 

Paul Scully 

Grant Shapps 

Chris Skidmore 

Chloe Smith

Henry Smith 

Royston Smith 

Mark Spencer 

Andrew Stephenson 

Bob Stewart

Iain Stewart 

Graham Stuart 

Julian Sturdy 

Rishi Sunak 

Desmond Swayne 

Robert Syms 

Derek Thomas 

Ross Thomson 

Maggie Throup 

Kelly Tolhurst

Michael Tomlinson 

Craig Tracey 

Anne-Marie Trevelyan 

Elizabeth Truss 

Tom Tugendhat 

Shailesh Vara 

Martin Vickers 

Theresa Villiers 

Ben Wallace 

David Warburton 

Matt Warman 

Giles Watling 

Helen Whatley 

Heather Wheeler 

Craig Whittaker 

John Whittingdale 

Bill Wiggin 

Gavin Williamson 

Mike Wood 

Nadhim Zahawi 

112 Tory MPs Who Voted ‘For’ May’s Plans

Bim Afolami 

Peter Aldous

Edward Argar 

Victoria Atkins 

Richard Benyon 

Paul Beresford 

Nick Boles 

Peter Bottomley 

Andrew Bowie 

Karen Bradley

Steve Brine 

James Brokenshire 

Robert Buckland 

Alistair Burt 

Alun Cairns 

James Cartlidge 

Alex Chalk 

Greg Clark 

Kenneth Clarke 

Therese Coffey 

Alberto Costa 

Geoffrey Cox 

Stephen Crabb 

David Davis

Jonathan Djanogly 

Oliver Dowden 

David Duguid 

Alan Duncan 

Philip Dunne 

Tobias Ellwood

Mark Field

Vicky Ford 

Lucy Frazer

George Freeman 

Roger Gale 

Mark Garnier 

David Gauke 

Nick Gibb 

Cheryl Gillan 

Robert Goodwill 

Michael Gove 

Luke Graham 

Richard Graham 

Bill Grant 

Damian Green 

Justine Greening 

Dominic Grieve 

Sam Gyimah 

Philip Hammond 

Stephen Hammond 

Matt Hancock 

Richard Harrington 

Oliver Heald 

Peter Heaton-Jones

Nick Herbert 

Damian Hinds 

Simon Hoare 

George Hollingbery 

Kevin Hollinrake 

John Howell 

Jeremy Hunt 

Nick Hurd 

Margot James 

Sajid Javid 

Joseph Johnson 

Andrew Jones

Gillian Keegan 

Seema Kennedy 

Stephen Kerr

Mark Lancaster 

Jeremy Lefroy 

Oliver Letwin 

Brandon Lewis 

David Lidington 

Paul Masterson 

Theresa May 

Patrick McLoughlin 

Maria Miller 

Anne Milton 

Andrew Mitchell 

Nicky Morgan 

David Mundell 

Robert Neill 

Sarah Newton 

Caroline Noakes 

Neil Parish 

Mark Pawsey 

John Penrose 

Claire Perry 

Dan Poulter 

Rebecca Pow 

Victoria Prentis 

Jeremy Quin 

Amber Rudd 

David Rutley 

Antoinette Sandbach 

Bob Seely 

Alok Sharma 

Alec Shelbrooke 

Keith Simpson 

Nicholas Soames 

Caroline Spelman 

John Stevenson 

Rory Stewart 

Gavin Streeter 

Mel Stride 

Hugo Swire 

Justin Tomlinson 

David Tredinnick 

Edward Vaizey 

Robin Walker 

Jeremy Wright  

Brexit secretary Stephen Barclay was among the Tory MPs which voted against May's plans to delay Brexit