Ally McCoist drops England penalty truth bomb as giddy pundit instantly slapped down with VAR probe

Ally McCoist has slapped down commentary partner Lee Dixon after he brushed off a controversial penalty awarded to England.

With the Netherlands leading 1-0 in the Euro 2024 semi-final, England captain Harry Kane was involved in a collision in the box with Denzel Dumfries as the Bayern Munich man looked to take a shot at goal. Play went on before referee Felix Zweyer was sent to the monitor to review the flashpoint by the VAR team - and he would eventually point to the spot.

That gave Kane the chance to level the showdown in Germany - and he made no mistake from 12 yards. Dixon couldn't hide his delight on air as he brushed aside any controversy: "'I am pleased, don't get me wrong. But from a defenders point of view you have got to challenge for the ball. I don't think that is a penalty, but I don't care..."

Harry Kane is awarded a penalty following a VAR review
Harry Kane is awarded a penalty following a VAR review -Credit:PA

But Rangers legend McCoist wasn't willing to let his commentary pal off: "I will give you my tuppence worth right now. The fact of the matter is that the defender is going for the ball, and in truth Harry Kane has kicked him because he is following through because he has got to take the shot on."

The Scotland hero would go on to question the use of VAR adding: "Not a penalty for me. As soon as the referee was going over you knew it (would be given) but I don't think for a minute it's a clear and obvious error."