Arctic Council countries to resume limited work excluding Russia

·1-min read
FILE PHOTO: The moon rises over Arctic ice near the 2011 Applied Physics Laboratory Ice Station north of Prudhoe Bay, Alaska

COPENHAGEN (Reuters) - Arctic Council countries Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden and the United States said on Wednesday they would resume limited internal cooperation that excluded Russia.

The countries halted all meetings in the Council on March 3 following Russia's invasion of Ukraine.

"We intend to implement a limited resumption of our work in the Arctic Council, in projects that do not involve the participation of the Russian Federation," the countries said in a joint statement published by the Icelandic foreign ministry.

The Arctic Council brings together countries with Arctic territories, including Russia, to collaborate on matters that affect the region's residents. It does not deal with security issues.

(Reporting by Nikolaj Skydsgaard; editing by Barbara Lewis)

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting