Green list: Austria, Germany, Slovenia, Slovakia, Latvia, Romania and Norway added

·2-min read
Germany was bumped up to the green list (Getty Images/iStockphoto)
Germany was bumped up to the green list (Getty Images/iStockphoto)

Austria, Germany, Slovenia, Slovakia, Latvia, Romania and Norway have all been added to the green list in the government’s latest update to the traffic light system for international travel.

In an announcement on the evening of 4 August, the Department for Transport (DfT) confirmed that all seven countries have “demonstrated they posed a low risk to UK public health”.

The move means that all arrivals from these destinations can avoid quarantine on entry to the UK, regardless of vaccination status.

Instead, they must take one Covid PCR test within two days of arriving, in addition to presenting a negative lateral flow prior to departure to the UK.

The changes will come into effect in England at 4am on Sunday 8 August.   

Watch: COVID-19 travel: Full list of updated green, amber and red countries - and the rules when you go abroad

It remains to be confirmed whether the same changes will be adopted by the other devolved nations, but previously Scotland and Wales have mirrored England’s changes to traffic light lists.

Transport secretary Grant Shapps said of the latest update: “We are committed to opening up international travel safely, taking advantage of the gains we’ve made through our successful vaccination programme, helping connect families, friends and businesses around the world.”

“While we must continue to be cautious, today’s changes reopen a range of different holiday destinations across the globe, which is good news for both the sector and travelling public.”

No countries were demoted from green to amber.

The full green list is now comprised of 36 destinations, 16 of which are on the green watchlist, meaning they’re at risk of changing from green to amber.

Elsewhere, India, Bahrain, Qatar and the UAE have been upgraded from red to amber in welcome news to travellers, while Georgia, Mexico, La Reunion and Mayotte have been added to the red list.

As expected, France shed its “amber plus” status, meaning travellers arriving from there need not quarantine if they’ve been fully vaccinated.

Watch: Airline refunds: What are your rights as a consumer?'

Read More

Which countries could be added to the green list?

Where can I travel and go on holiday now?

When is the next UK travel update for green list countries?

Travel UK news – live: Seven countries go green, France sheds ‘amber plus’ status and four countries go red

‘Too little, too late’: travel industry attacks traffic light changes

Arrivals from Spain advised to use PCR as pre-departure Covid test

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting