Big Bang Theory's Mayim Bialik refuses to Celebrity Jeopardy! in support of strikes

mayim bialik hosts celebrity jeopardy
Mayim Bialik refuses to host in support of strikesTyler Golden

The Big Bang Theory star Mayim Bialik has stepped away from hosting the second season of Celebrity Jeopardy! amid the Hollywood strikes.

It was recently confirmed that the star would not host the final week of episodes being filmed of the main show Jeopardy! in support of the show's writers, as they take part in the Writers Guild of America (WGA) strikes.

It has now been reported by Variety that Bialik won't host season 2 of the show's celebrity spin-off, with co-host Ken Jennings stepping in when the season premieres next month.

mayim bialik hosting jeopardy
Tyler Golden

Related: All the TV shows affected by the writers and actors strikes

Bialik hosted the whole first season of Celebrity Jeopardy!, rather than splitting duties with Jennings as on the main show.

Written material for season 2 was also finished before the WGA strikes began.

The news comes after Jeopardy! announced a number of big changes to the show's format amid the WGA and SAG-AFTRA strikes, including reused material from previous seasons and the return of some past contestants.

mayim bialik hosts celebrity jeopardy
Tyler Golden

Related: Emmy Awards delayed to 2024 amid Hollywood strikes

"I believe, principally that it would not be fair to have new contestants," showrunner Michael Davies recently said on the Inside Jeopardy podcast. "Making their first appearance on the Alex Trebek stage, doing it with non-original material or as we’ll talk about, a combination of non-original material and material that was written pre-strike.

"And so we decided that really we needed to invite back and give a second chance in general to players who probably thought that their chance to come back and play on the Alex Trebek stage had gone forever.

"So we’re gonna open the season with a second-chance tournament for players from Season 37 who lost their initial game, and winners from that will advance to a Season 37 and Season 38 Champions Wild Card."

Jeopardy! and Celebrity Jeopardy! air on ABC in the US.

You Might Also Like