Birmingham Edgbaston general election candidates 2024

There are a total of six candidates vying for election in Birmingham Edgbaston.
-Credit: (Image: Birmingham Live)

The UK General Election is now just weeks away as the country prepares to go to the polls to decide who will run the country. There are 650 seats in Parliament up for grabs across the country on July 4 - including 10 here in Birmingham.

In Edgbaston, voters will have the choice of six candidates to represent them as their local MP. MPs play a crucial role in the running of the country, voting on laws which affect us all - but they're also your voice in Westminster.

On July 4, either Rishi Sunak or Keir Starmer will be elected as leader of the country. Starmer has called for 'change' after 14 years of Tory 'chaos' whilst Sunak is hoping to convince voters that the country has 'turned a corner' and is on the road to economic recovery.

READ MORE: General Election TV debates - when are they, how to watch and who is taking part on BBC and ITV

Who is the Labour candidate for Birmingham Edgbaston?

Labour's candidate for Edgbaston is Preet Kaur Gill who is standing to be re-elected as MP for the area. Preet Kaur Gill has served as Shadow Minister for Primary Care and Public Health since 2023 and was Britain's first Sikh female MP when she was elected in 2017.

She has previously worked in children services and as a councillor for Sandwell.

Who is the Conservative candidate for Birmingham Edgbaston?

The Conservative candidate for Birmingham Edgbaston is Ashvir Sangha, a former Communications Adviser to Andy Street.

Who is the Liberal Democrat candidate for Edgbaston?

Colin Green is a current Birmingham City councillor for Sheldon, where he sits on the planning committee.

Who else is standing in Birmingham Edgbaston?

There are a total of six candidates in Birmingham Edgbaston. The Greens, Reform UK, Liberal Democrats and independents will all be hoping to make a dent in Labour's small majority in the area.

Here is a full list of candidates standing in Birmingham Edgbaston:

  • Preet Kaur Gill - Labour

  • Ashvir Sangha - Conservative

  • Colin Green - Liberal Democrats

  • Joshua Matthews - Reform UK

  • Nicola Catherine Payne - Green Party

  • Ammar Waraich - Independent

Who won Birmingham Edgbaston in 2019?

Preet Kaur Gill was elected with a small majority of 5,614 votes in 2019. She won 21,217 votes in 2019, with the second place Tory candidate Alex Yip receiving 15,603.

The seat of Birmingham Edgbaston has been held by Labour since 1997 having previously been a safe Tory seat. It contains the University of Birmingham's main campus, and most of the student halls.