Birmingham Perry Barr general election candidates 2024

Perry Barr has been held by Labour since the 1970s.
-Credit: (Image: SWNS)

With the general election just weeks away, the candidates standing to be the MP for Birmingham Perry Barr have been revealed. There are 650 constituencies up for grabs around the UK on July 4 - including 10 seats here in Birmingham.

Prime Minister Rishi Sunak will be trying to convince voters over the next few weeks that he's the man to lead the country towards economic recovery, with millions feeling the pinch amid the cost of living crisis. But he faces an uphill battle with Labour on course for an election landslide, if polls are to be believed, with leader Keir Starmer making the case for 'change' after 14 years of Tory rule.

On July 4, voters will decide who the local MP will be in their area whose job it is to make sure your voice is heard in the heart of Westminster. In Birmingham Perry Barr, there are eight candidates standing to be your next MP.

The constituency has changed slightly so includes Birchfield, Handsworth, Handsworth Wood, Holyhead, Lozells, and parts of Oscott as well as Perry Barr. The Aston area is covered now by Birmingham Ladywood and other parts of Oscott by Birmingham Erdington.

READ MORE: General Election TV debates - when are they, how to watch and who is taking part on BBC and ITV

Who is the Labour candidate for Birmingham Perry Barr?

Labour's candidate in Perry Barr is Khalid Mahmood who has served as an MP for the area since 2001. He served on the Labour front bench as a shadow Foreign Office minister under leader Jeremy Corbyn, and a shadow Defence minister under leader Keir Starmer until his resignation in 2021.

Mahmood was as a Birmingham City Councillor from 1990 to 1993. He is a former engineer with a trade union background.

In 2022, he lost an employment tribunal claim with a former staffer, with the court finding his Parliamentary aide was unfairly dismissed after raising concerns about alleged criminal actions by a colleague. Recently, he has supported residents affected by the sudden closure of Market Village in Perry Barr in January - and also worked to ensure residents were consulted during the Commonwealth Games.

Khalid Mahmood has been an MP for Perry Barr since 2001.
Khalid Mahmood has been an MP for Perry Barr since 2001. -Credit:Darren Quinton/Birmingham Live

Who is the Conservative candidate for Birmingham Perry Barr?

The Conservative candidate for Birmingham Perry Barr is Garry Hickton. Hickton was picked as the Tory candidate right before the deadline on June 7.

Hickton is a councillor at Derbyshire County Council. He currently serves as the Cabinet Support Member for children’s services and safeguarding.

Who else is standing in Birmingham Perry Barr?

There is a total of eight candidates standing for election in Birmingham Perry Barr. Former Liberal Democrat councillor Ayoub Khan has quit the part to stand as an independent over claims he was asked to 'hush up' over Gaza.

Here is a list of all the candidates standing in Birmingham Perry Barr:

  • Khalid Mahmood - Labour

  • Ayoub Khan - Independent

  • Garry Hickton - Conservatives

  • Kefentse Dennis - Green Party

  • Andy Chaffer - Communist Party of Britain

  • Sabah Hamed - Liberal Democrats

  • Akshay Khuttan - Reform UK

  • Shangara Singh - Socialist Labour Party

Ayoub Khan is running as an independent after quitting the Liberal Democrats.
Ayoub Khan is running as an independent after quitting the Liberal Democrats. -Credit:Birmingham Mail

Who won Birmingham Perry Barr in 2019?

Khalid Mahmood held Perry Barr for Labour in 2019 with 26,594 votes and a 15,000-strong majority. Tory candidate Raaj Shamji came second in 2019 with 11,277 votes, with the Liberal Democrats in third. Turnout was 58.53 per cent. Labour has held Perry Barr since 1974.