Each MP who has stood down during the General Election process

James Morris, Tom Herbert
John Bercow is among the dozens of MPs not standing on December 12: Stefan Rousseau/PA

More than 70 MPs and former candidates have announced they will not seek re-election for the general election on December 12.

Millions of voters head to the polls on Thursday for the first December election in nearly 100 years, but 74 incumbents have made the decision not to stand again.

Among them is the long-standing Conservative grandee and father of the house Ken Clarke, who retired after being thrown out of the Tory Party in September, along with Sir Oliver Letwin, Sir Nicholas Soames, Philip Hammond, Amber Rudd and Justine Greening.

Deputy leader of the Labour Party Tom Watson is not standing again, along with Keith Vaz, Owen Smith, Sir Vince Cable, Sir Norman Lamb, Heidi Allen and ex-Speaker of the House John Bercow.

Here is the latest list of MPs who have said they will be standing down.

Change UK

  • Ann Coffey, Stockport
  • Joan Ryan, Enfield North


  • Richard Benyon, Newbury
  • Alistair Burt, North East Bedfordshire
  • Henry Bellingham, North West Norfolk
  • Glyn Davies, Montgomeryshire
  • Mims Davies, Eastleigh
  • Sir Alan Duncan, Rutland and Melton
  • Sir Michael Fallon, Sevenoaks
  • Mark Field, Cities of London & Westminster
  • Bill Grant, Ayr, Carrick and Cummock
  • Andrew Griffiths, Burton
  • Richard Harrington, Watford
  • Nick Herbert, Arundel South Downs
  • Peter Heaton-Jones, North Devon
  • George Hollingbery, Meon Valley
  • Nick Hurd, Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner
  • Margot James, Stourbridge
  • Jo Johnson, Orpington
  • Seema Kennedy, South Ribble
  • Mark Lancaster, Milton Keynes North
  • Jeremy Lefroy, Stafford
  • Sir David Lidington, Aylesbury
  • Sir Patrick McLoughlin, Derbyshire Dales
  • Nicky Morgan, Loughborough
  • Sarah Newton, Truro and Falmouth
  • Claire Perry, Devizes
  • Mark Prisk, Hertford and Stortford
  • Keith Simpson, Broadland
  • Sir Nicholas Soames, Mid Sussex
  • Dame Caroline Spelman, Meriden
  • Sir Hugo Swire, East Devon
  • Ross Thomson, Aberdeen South
  • David Tredinnick, Bosworth
  • Ed Vaizey, Wantage


  • Adrian Bailey, West Bromwich West
  • Sir Kevin Barron, Rother Valley
  • Roberta Blackman-Woods, City of Durham
  • Ronnie Campbell, Blyth Valley
  • Ann Clwyd, Cynon Valley
  • Jim Cunningham, Coventry South
  • Gloria De Piero, Ashfield
  • Paul Farrelly, Newcastle-under-Lyme
  • Jim Fitzpatrick, Poplar and Limehouse
  • Kate Hoey, Vauxhall
  • Helen Jones, Warrington North
  • Ian Lucas, Wrexham
  • John Mann, Bassetlaw
  • Albert Owen, Ynys Mon
  • Teresa Pearce, Erith & Thamesmead
  • Stephen Pound, Ealing North
  • Geoffrey Robinson, Coventry North West
  • Owen Smith, Pontypridd
  • Stephen Twigg, Liverpool West Derby
  • Tom Watson, West Bromwich East
  • Keith Vaz, Leicester East


  • Ian Austin, Dudley North
  • Guto Bebb, Aberconwy
  • Nick Boles, Grantham and Stamford
  • Kenneth Clarke, Rushcliffe
  • Charlie Elphicke, Dover
  • Stephen Hepburn, Jarrow
  • Dame Louise Ellman, Liverpool Riverside
  • Justine Greening, Putney
  • Philip Hammond, Runnymede & Weybridge
  • Lady Sylvia Hermon, North Down
  • Kelvin Hopkins, Luton North
  • Sir Oliver Letwin, West Dorset
  • Jarad O'Mara, Sheffield Hallam
  • Amber Rudd, Hastings and Rye
  • Rory Stewart, Penrith & Border
  • John Woodcock, Barrow and Furness

Liberal Democrat

  • Heidi Allen, South Cambridgeshire
  • Sir Vince Cable, Twickenham
  • Sir Norman Lamb, North Norfolk


  • David Simpson, Upper Bann


  • John Bercow, Buckingham
Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting.