Chelsea vs Tottenham: Should Hugo Lloris have been sent off for handball outside his penalty area?

Tom Doyle
REUTERS

Hugo Lloris courted controversy against Chelsea at Wembley on Saturday as the Tottenham goalkeeper appeared to handle the ball outside his penalty area.

Lloris endured a tough start to the FA Cup semi-final as he was beaten by a deflected Willian free-kick on his near side after just five minutes, and was unable to keep out the Brazilian's spot-kick two minutes from the interval.

Things could have gotten worse for the Spurs captain as he lost control of the ball after sliding out to deny Michy Batshauyi a minute before half-time, with the goalkeeper appearing to push the ball back into his penalty area with his hand.

Chelsea players appealed in vain to referee Martin Atkinson as the keeper escaped a potential dismissal for deliberate handball, with the Blues' frustrations compounded as Spurs equalised soon after the break through Dele Alli.

(REUTERS)

Have your say on whether the goalkeeper should have been given his marching orders...

By using Yahoo you agree that Yahoo and partners may use Cookies for personalisation and other purposes