Tory leadership: When is the next vote, and when will the next Prime Minister be selected?

Telegraph Reporters
Who will replace Theresa May? - PA

The contest to replace Theresa May as leader of the Conservative Party officially began on Monday, June 10.

A number of party heavyweights had already begun jostling for position in anticipation of a leadership contest after Mrs May announced at the end of March that she would make way for a new Conservative Prime Minister to lead the second phase of the Brexit negotiations. 

Her resignation, on May 24, meant the Tory leadership election could begin in earnest. This is how that process works, what the timetable will be and who could replace her. 

How is a candidate nominated?

Usually the departing Prime Minister stays on in a "caretaker" role after resigning to give the party long enough to pick a new leader. That's what David Cameron did in 2016 and what Mrs May will be doing, too.

A candidate must be formally proposed and seconded by fellow MPs.

Under the terms of the Conservative party constitution, the 1922 Committee presents to the party "as soon as reasonably practical" a choice of candidates for the election of leader.

How is the winner picked?

A ballot of Tory MPs is held in which the candidate with the least support drops off the list. This process is repeated until just two candidates remain. Candidates who realise they do not command enough support to get on the ballot may also take the decision to withdraw from the race.

Once two candidates have been selected by MPs, the Conservative Party's 124,000 members (as of March 2018) will get a vote to choose the winner.

Candidates will go head-to-head at hustings events around the country with their pitches to party members in the hope of winning their support.

A candidate achieving more than 50 per cent of the vote among Party members will be declared Leader of the Party.

Who will replace Theresa May?

Among the leading contenders to replace Mrs May are Michael Gove, Jeremy Hunt, Boris Johnson, and Dominic Raab. 

Here are the latest odds on who could become the next Conservative Prime Minister when the prime minister steps down. 

Can I hijack the vote?

The vote won't be open to the general public – this privilege is restricted to people who are already members of the Conservative party.

But if you're thinking of joining up with the sole purpose of influencing the result, think again: party rules stipulate the ballot will only be open to members who joined before the 'call for nominations' was opened to MPs.

Eligible voters are also required to have been a party member for three months by the time the election takes place.

WATCH: The Tory leadership hopefuls and where they stand on Brexit

What is the timing for the leadership selection process?

The process to select a new leader takes place in the form of four rounds of voting with leadership hustings in between.

Thursday, 13 June

Tory MPs cast their first votes of the contest with three candidates, Esther McVey, Andrea Leadsom and Mark Harper, eliminated.

Sunday, 16 June

Channel 4 hosted the first publicly televised leadership hustings in front of a studio audience.

Monday 17 June

11am Five of the six leadership candidates (not Boris Johnson) answered questions from 100 political journalists in the Parliamentary Press Lobby hustings

3pm All six contenders grilled by backbench Conservative MPs in the final MPs' hustings of the contest

Tuesday 18 June

3pm - 5pm Conservative MPs vote in the second round of the leadership contest. 

6pm Results announced. Dominic Raab is eliminated with 30. Sajid Javid just made it with 33 votes. The remainder of votes for candidates who will take part in the BBC debate were as follows: Boris Johnson - 126. Michael Gove - 41. Jeremy Hunt 46. Rory Stewart - 37.

8pm Boris Johnson joins remaining leadership candidates for BBC debate hosted by Emily Maitlis.

Wednesday 19 June

3pm - 5pm MPs vote in the third round of the leadership contest. 

6pm Result announced

Thursday 20 June

10am - 12pm MPs vote in the fourth round of the leadership contest. 

1pm Result announced.

3.30pm - 5.30pm MPs vote in the fifth round of the leadership contest, if more than two left in the race. 

6pm Result announced. 

Saturday 22 June

The first of 16 formal hustings of the party's membership gets underway in Birmingham followed by a private hustings for party donors

Monday, 22 July

Following a month-long contest, Tory officials tally up the tens of thousands of votes cast by party members, before declaring the new prime minister. It is unclear as to whether this happens before Parliament rises for the summer recess.