COVID-19 quarantine list update: Israel, Sri Lanka, Uruguay, Namibia and Rwanda made exempt from isolation rules

·1-min read

Travellers arriving in England, Wales and Northern Ireland from five more countries will soon no longer have to quarantine.

Those coming from Israel, Uruguay, Namibia, Rwanda and Sri Lanka will not need to isolate for 14 days upon arrival in the country.

The quarantine exemption also applies to Jerusalem in its entirety.

Also exempt will be travellers arriving from Bonaire, the US Virgin Islands, Sint Eustatius and Saba in the Caribbean, as well as the Northern Mariana Islands in the Pacific region.

The changes come into effect from 4am on Saturday, as part of the weekly update to so-called "travel corridors".

Watch: UK visa requirements relaxed for overstayers, NHS workers and entrepreneurs

No countries have been added to the quarantine lists today.

Scotland has made no changes at all, with Chief Medical Officer Dr Gregor Smith saying that, given 11 areas have been put into the highest level of regional restrictions, "ministers have decided that no amendments should be made to the list of countries exempt from quarantine".

He added: "The advice remains that only essential travel should be undertaken."

The UK government is responsible for England, while the three devolved administrations across the remaining nations are in charge of their own quarantine lists.

They often meet to discuss what the weekly changes should be and sometimes make the same or similar decisions on which countries to add or remove.

Although the restrictions for some travellers are being eased, anyone arriving in England will still have to follow the "stay at home" rules for the rest of the second national lockdown, ending on 2 December.

Watch: University of Birmingham develops nasal spray that 'protects against coronavirus and prevents transmission'