Decatur County United Fund tops 2023 goal

Feb. 1—GREENSBURG — The Decatur County United Fund talked about finances, announced new board members and honored those who have served on the DCUF Board of Directors at the organization's 67th annual lunch meeting Monday at the Knights of St. John Hall in Greensburg.

After Stone's Restaurant served a meal of green beans, potatoes and fried chicken, DCUF President Suzanne Horan attended to the order of business for the meeting, approving the last year's annual meeting minutes and the 2023 balance sheet.

DCUF Executive Director Joane Cunningham gave a recap of the year's activities and introduced the 2024 mission: "Together, Building Hope, Health and Stability for our Community."

In 2023, the DCUF assisted 8,000 people in the community with initiatives and funding programs. An additional $51,088 was awarded in the form of grants to offset the cost for salaries, equipment and other special needs of groups in the county.

With 1,306 pre-orders sold during the 2023 Strawberry Festival, the event raised $14,630.

During the organization's annual auction at the Knights of Columbus, a record $135,275 was raised in just three hours. Cunningham thanked auctioneers Brian Owens, Steve Fortner and Aaron Gault and event host Brad Schutte for their contributions to the event.

The DCUF helped 449 local children enroll in Dolly Parton's Imagination Library.

The DCUF donated $5,000 to help 82 students participate in Camp Invention at North Decatur Elementary in 2023. Cunningham thanked long-time coordinator for the event retired teacher Linda Smith for her work in facilitating the event.

Finally, during 2023 Day of Caring, 95 volunteers completed 23 projects for 11 nonprofit organizations.

Cunningham introduced organization leaders from 23 nonprofit organizations in Decatur County, bidding each rise as their names were read.

As she completed her report, Cunningham reminded the assemblage that every year the DCUF begins at zero and fundraising to support member organizations begins anew. She thanked the various community partners for their contributions to the campaign, honoring Delta Faucet, First Financial Bank and Honda Manufacturing of Indiana as the top three corporate donors for the year.

Corporate donors First Financial Bank and Koenig Equipment were honored for bettering their employee giving by 10% during 2023, and then Horan, Delta Faucet's Amy Bray and DCMH's Matt Weber were recognized for their six years as board members.

Cunningham presented each with a plaque and writing set for completing their terms as DCUF Board members.

Elections for 2024 were conducted with Taryn Owens voted President for the 2024 Board, Sally Cuskaden as 1st Vice president, Kristen Fry as 2nd Vice President, and Nick Wallpe as Secretary/Treasurer.

Sally Cuskaden was elected to the Board for a second term, serving until September 2027. New Directors Scott Hadler, Stephanie Kress and Bob Johannigman were elected to the Board with their memberships terminating in 2027 as well.

To bring the event to a close, Cunningham awarded Horan the President's Plaque and Brad Schutte the Volunteer of the Year plaque for 2023.

Contact Bill Rethlake at 812-651-0876 or email