Ed Miliband Returns To Labour Shadow Cabinet As Keir Starmer Shapes Top Team

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
·2-min read
In this article:
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Keir Starmer
    Keir Starmer
    British politician

Coronavirus has changed everything. Make sense of it all with the Waugh Zone, our evening politics briefing. Sign up now.

Ed Miliband has made a return to frontline politics as new Labour leader Keir Starmer appointed MPs to his top team.

The former party leader is the new shadow business secretary, Labour announced today.

Starmer has made a decisive break with the Jeremy Corbyn era, with no fewer than 14 shadow ministers asked to stand down, including former deputy leadership candidates Richard Burgon and Dawn Butler.

Starmer’s rivals for the leadership were also handed positions, with Rebecca Long-Bailey moved to the education brief and Lisa Nandy promoted to be shadow foreign secretary.

David Lammy, meanwhile, becomes shadow justice secretary, and Rosena Allin-Khan is now shadow minister for mental health.

Former Labour leader Ed Miliband  (Photo: ASSOCIATED PRESS)
Former Labour leader Ed Miliband  (Photo: ASSOCIATED PRESS)

Keir Starmer’s Labour shadow cabinet

Keir Starmer, leader

Angela Rayner, deputy leader and party chair

Lisa Nandy, shadow foreign secretary

Nick Thomas-Symonds, shadow home secretary

Rachel Reeves, shadow chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster

David Lammy, shadow justice secretary

John Healey, shadow defence secretary

Ed Miliband, shadow business, energy and industrial secretary

Emily Thornberry, shadow international trade secretary

Jonathan Reynolds, shadow work and pensions secretary

Jonathan Ashworth, shadow health secretary

Rebecca Long-Bailey, shadow education secretary

Jo Stevens, shadow culture secretary

Bridget Philipson, shadow chief secretary to the Treasury

Luke Pollard, shadow environment secretary

Steve Reed, shadow communities secretary

Thangam Debbonaire, shadow housing secretary

Jim McMahon, shadow transport secretary

Preet Kaur Gill, shadow international development secretary

Louise Haigh, shadow Northern Ireland secretary

Ian Murray, shadow Scotland secretary

Nia Griffith, shadow Wales secretary

Marsha de Cordova, shadow women and equalities secretary

Andy McDonald, shadow employment rights and protections secretary

Rosena Allin-Khan, shadow minister for mental health

Cat Smith, shadow minister for young people and voter engagement

Lord Falconer, shadow attorney general

Valerie Vaz, shadow leader of the House

Nick Brown, chief whip

Baroness Smith, shadow leader of the Lords

Lord McAvoy, Lords’ chief whip

Starmer said in a statement: “I’m proud to have appointed a shadow cabinet that showcases the breadth, depth and talents of the Labour Party.

“This is a new team that will be relentlessly focused on acting in the national interest to respond to the coronavirus pandemic and rebuilding Labour so that it can win the next election.”


How Quickly Can Keir Starmer Get Labour Back Into Power?

Labour Leader Keir Starmer Reshuffles Top Team After Huge Victory

Richard Burgon Sacked As Keir Starmer Continues Labour Reshuffle

Love HuffPost? Become a founding member of HuffPost Plus today.

This article originally appeared on HuffPost.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting