Emmerdale wins Best British Soap at the Hackney Empire

Paige Sandhu was among the winners at the awards show credit:Bang Showbiz
Paige Sandhu was among the winners at the awards show credit:Bang Showbiz

'Emmerdale' was named the Best British Soap at the 2022 British Soap Awards on Saturday night (11.06.22).

The ITV show saw off competition from 'Coronation Street', 'Doctors', 'EastEnders' and 'Hollyoaks' to win the coveted gong at the Hackney Empire theatre in London.

'Emmerdale' star Paige Sandhu - who plays Meena Jutla in the ITV soap - also won the Best Leading Performer prize, while the Dingles were named the Best Family in British soaps.

Mark Charnock - who plays the part of Marlon Dingle in the long-running show - also received the award for Best Dramatic Performance.

Elsewhere, 'EastEnders' actress Tameka Empson - who stars as Kim Fox in the BBC soap - won the gong for Best Comedy Performer, while Ross Boatman - who plays Harvey Monroe - won the Best Newcomer gong.

Fellow 'EastEnders' stars Lacey Turner and Gillian Wright were named the Best On-Screen Partnership, and Letitia Dean - who first played Sharon Watts in 1985 - won the Outstanding Achievement Award.

Letitia, 54, was actually presented with her gong by her on-screen mum Anita Dobson, who played Angie Watts.

Meanwhile, 'Coronation Street's Maximus Evans won the Villain of the Year prize for his portrayal of Corey Brent in the ITV soap.

Co-star Millie Gibson - who plays the part of Kelly Neelan - received the Best Young Performer award.

The 17-year-old actress joined the cast in 2019, and the official 'Coronation Street' Twitter account hailed her success, describing Millie as an "amazing talent".

A post read: "A massive congratulations to Millie Gibson, what an amazing talent [heart emojis] (sic)"

Similarly, the cast and crew of 'Hollyoaks' also enjoyed success at the Hackney Empire, with the Channel 4 soap taking home the awards for Best Storyline and Scene of the Year, while 'Coronation Street's writer Jan McVerry - who has also penned episodes of 'Brookside' and 'Emmerdale' - won the Tony Warren Award.

Full list of award winners:

Best British Soap:


Best Leading Performer:

Paige Sandhu (Meena Jutla) – Emmerdale

Best Family:

The Dingles – Emmerdale

Villain of the Year:

Maximus Evans (Corey Brent) – Coronation Street

Best Comedy Performer:

Tameka Empson (Kim Fox) – EastEnders

Best Newcomer:

Ross Boatman (Harvey Monroe) – EastEnders

Best Storyline:

Hollyoaks – Misbah's Historic Rape – Harvey Virdi (Misbah Maalik)

Best Single Episode:

Doctors – Three Consultations and a Funeral

Best Dramatic Performance:

Mark Charnock (Marlon Dingle) – Emmerdale

Best On-Screen Partnership:

Lacey Turner and Gillian Wright (Stacey Slater and Jean Slater) – EastEnders

Best Young Performer:

Millie Gibson (Kelly Neelan) – Coronation Street

Scene of the Year:

Hollyoaks – Misbah Didn't Consent – Haiesha Mistry (Yasmine Maalik), Harvey Virdi (Misbah Maalik)

Outstanding Achievement Award:

Letitia Dean – EastEnders

The Tony Warren Award:

Jan McVerry