Euro 2020: Fixtures, groups, dates, kick-offs, venues and full schedule

·4-min read
 (AFP via Getty Images)
(AFP via Getty Images)

A year later than planned, Euro 2020 is finally within sight, with 24 teams set to compete across the continent to be crowned European champions.

Gareth Southgate’s England are among the tournament favourites with an exciting young squad, with world champions France, world No1 Belgium and defending champions Portugal also among the leading contenders.

European giants Italy, Spain, Germany and the Netherlands have all been in something of transition periods of late but are sure to be amongst it, too.

Here’s all you need to know about the tournament...

When is Euro 2020?

The European Championships get underway on Friday, June 12 as Turkey play Italy in Rome.

The final takes place a month later on July 12 at Wembley. Scroll down for the full schedule.

Getty Images
Getty Images


  • Group A: Italy, Turkey, Wales, Switzerland

  • Group B: Belgium, Denmark, Russia, Finland

  • Group C: Netherlands, Ukraine, Austria, North Macedonia

  • Group D: England, Croatia, Czech Republic, Scotland

  • Group E: Spain, Poland, Sweden, Slovakia

  • Group F: France, Portugal, Germany, Hungary

Host cities and venues

Originally, 12 cities were due to host matches. However, Dublin dropped out after being unable to offer guarantees over fan attendance, while Bilbao has been replaced by Seville for the same reason.

The 11 stadia to be used are:

  • Johan Cruyff Arena (Amsterdam)

  • Olympic Stadium (Baku)

  • Arena Nationala (Bucharest)

  • Puskas Arena (Budapest)

  • Parken Stadium (Copenhagen)

  • Hampden Park (Glasgow)

  • Wembley Stadium (London)

  • Allianz Arena (Munich)

  • Stadio Olimpico (Rome)

  • Krestovsky Stadium (St Petersburg)

  • La Cartuja (Seville)

Schedule in full: Fixtures, dates and kick-off times

Group Stages

Friday 11 June

  • Group A: Turkey v Italy (20:00, Rome)

Saturday 12 June

  • Group A: Wales v Switzerland (14:00, Baku)

  • Group B: Denmark v Finland (17:00, Copenhagen)

  • Group B: Belgium v Russia (21:00, St Petersburg)

Sunday 13 June

  • Group D: England v Croatia (14:00, London)

  • Group C: Austria v North Macedonia (17:00, Bucharest)

  • Group C: Netherlands v Ukraine (20:00, Amsterdam)

Monday 14 June

  • Group D: Scotland v Czech Republic (14:00, Glasgow)

  • Group E: Poland v Slovakia (17:00, St Petersburg)

  • Group E: Spain v Sweden (20:00, Seville)

Tuesday 15 June

  • Group F: Hungary v Portugal (17:00, Budapest)

  • Group F: France v Germany (20:00, Munich)

Wednesday 16 June

  • Group B: Finland v Russia (14:00, St Petersburg)

  • Group A: Turkey v Wales (17:00, Baku)

  • Group A: Italy v Switzerland (20:00, Rome)

Thursday 17 June

  • Group C: Ukraine v North Macedonia (14:00, Bucharest)

  • Group B: Denmark v Belgium (17:00, Copenhagen)

  • Group C: Netherlands v Austria (20:00, Amsterdam)

Friday 18 June

  • Group E: Sweden v Slovakia (14:00, St Petersburg)

  • Group D: Croatia v Czech Republic (17:00, Glasgow)

  • Group D: England v Scotland (20:00, London)

Saturday 19 June

  • Group F: Hungary v France (14:00, Budapest)

  • Group F: Portugal v Germany (17:00, Munich)

  • Group E: Spain v Poland (20:00, Seville)

Sunday 20 June

  • Group A: Italy v Wales (17:00, Rome)

  • Group A: Switzerland v Turkey (17:00, Baku)

Monday 21 June

  • Group C: North Macedonia v Netherlands (17:00, Amsterdam)

  • Group C: Ukraine v Austria (17:00, Bucharest)

  • Group B: Russia v Denmark (20:00, Copenhagen)

  • Group B: Finland v Belgium (20:00, St Petersburg)

Tuesday 22 June

  • Group D: Czech Republic v England (20:00, London)

  • Group D: Croatia v Scotland (20:00, Glasgow)

Wednesday 23 June

  • Group E: Slovakia v Spain (17:00, Seville)

  • Group E: Sweden v Poland (17:00, St Petersburg)

  • Group F: Germany v Hungary (20:00, Munich)

  • Group F: Portugal v France (20:00, Budapest)

Round of 16

Saturday 26 June

  • 1: 2A v 2B (17:00, Amsterdam)

  • 2: 1A v 2C (20:00, London)

Sunday 27 June

  • 3: 1C v 3D/E/F (17:00, Budapest)

  • 4: 1B v 3A/D/E/F (20:00, Seville)

Monday 28 June

  • 5: 2D v 2E (17:00, Copenhagen)

  • 6: 1F v 3A/B/C (20:00, Bucharest)

Tuesday 29 June

  • 7: 1D v 2F (17:00, London)

  • 8: 1E v 3A/B/C/D (20:00, Glasgow)


Friday 2 July

  • QF1: Winner 6 v Winner 5 (17:00, St Petersburg)

  • QF2: Winner 4 v Winner 2 (20:00, Munich)

Saturday 3 July

  • QF3: Winner 3 v Winner 1 (17:00, Baku)

  • QF4: Winner 8 v Winner 7 (20:00, Rome)


Tuesday 6 July

  • SF1: Winner QF2 v Winner QF1 (20:00, London)

Wednesday 7 July

  • SF2: Winner QF4 v Winner QF3 (20:00, London)


Sunday 11 July

  • Winner SF1 v Winner SF2 (20:00, London)

View a full list of all 24 teams’ squads here.

Read More

UK ‘falling behind’ European countries in race to green steel, report warns

Blind man’s vision partially restored by light-activated gene therapy

The motorsports supremo and privacy campaigner with a chequered family history

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting