F1: Abu Dhabi Grand Prix race start time UK, grid positions and how can I watch on TV today?

F1: Abu Dhabi Grand Prix race start time UK, grid positions and how can I watch on TV today?

The 22nd and final race of the 2022 Formula One season takes place today with the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

A rollercoaster F1 season, both on and off the track, that spanned 20 countries across five continents comes to a close with the championship long since sewn up.

Max Verstappen will collect his world title in the days after the trip to Yas Marina, where he finds himself having to make another statement as attention turns towards a potential rematch in 2023.

Mercedes’ fine pace in Brazil, resulting in a maiden F1 victory for George Russell, has opened up the possibility of the Mercs and Red Bull going toe to toe again next year - a scenario which this race should shed some more light on.


When is the F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix?

The Abu Dhabi Grand Prix takes place today, Sunday, November 20, 2022.

What time is the F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix?

The race starts at 1pm GMT,

How to watch the F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

TV channel: In the UK, the race will be shown live on Sky Sports Main Event and F1. Coverage of Grand Prix Sunday starts at 11.30am and 12.30pm on the two channels, respectively.

Free highlights will be available to watch on Channel 4 at 5.30pm.

Live stream: Sky Sports subscribers can also stream the race action live online via the SkyGo app.

LIVE blog: You can also follow the race as it happens with Standard Sport’s live blog.

Who is on pole for the F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix?

Max Verstappen and Sergio Perez put their differences to one side after the ugly team orders row in Brazil to lock out the front row ahead of the Ferrari duo of Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz and Mercedes pair Lewis Hamilton and George Russell.

The retiring Sebastian Vettel took ninth place for his final F1 outing, ahead of Daniel Ricciardo.

F1 Abu Dhabi Grand prix qualifying results in full

1. Max Verstappen, Netherlands, 1 minute, 23.824 seconds.

2. Sergio Perez, Mexico, 1:24.052.

3. Charles Leclerc, Monaco, 1:24.092.

4. Carlos Sainz Jr, Spain, 1:24.242.

5. Lewis Hamilton, Great Britain, 1:24.508.

6. George Russell, Great Britain, 1:24.511.

7. Lando Norris, Great Britain, 1:24.769.

8. Esteban Ocon, France, 1:24.830.

9. Sebastian Vettel, Germany, 1:24.961.

10. Daniel Ricciardo, Australia, 1:25.045.

Eliminated after second session

11. Fernando Alonso, Spain, 1:25.096.

12. Yuki Tsunoda, Japan, 1:25.219.

13. Mick Schumacher, Germany, 1:25.225.

14. Lance Stroll, Canada, 1:25.359.

15. Guanyu Zhou, China, 1:25.408.

Eliminated after first session

16. Kevin Magnussen, Denmark, 1:25.834.

17. Pierre Gasly, France, 1:25.859.

18. Valtteri Bottas, Finland, 1:25.892.

19. Alexander Albon, Thailand, 1:26.028.

20. Nicholas Latifi, Canada, 1:26.054.