Forbes among Appy winners

Mar. 20—PRESTONSBURG — Holly Forbes won Best Female Vocalist at this year's Appalachian Arts and Entertainment Awards.

Forbes is known nationally for her appearances on Season 21 of NBC's "The Voice."

Best Digital Mixed Media winner was Payton Martin of Prestonsburg.

Other winners from the region were:

Best Social Media Influencer: Kisha Royse of Rowan County

Best Photographer: Morgan Ravenscraft of Rowan County.

Best Cover Band/Variety Act: Thomas Taylor of Ironton.

Best Acting/Drama/Speech/Educator: Crockett Ward

Best Art Educator: Taylor Stacey

Best Dance Educator: Lora Rice

Best High School Band: Estill County

Best High School Choir: Parkersburg High School Chamber Choir

Best Music Educator: Janean Michelle Freeman

Best Sculpture/Pottery: Carvel and Ashley Norman — Dirty South Pottery

EP of the Year: Zoe Howard — Peace N Whereabouts

Album of the Year: Joe Clark — 10 Years too Late

Best Bassist: Tom Mallory

Best Keyboardist: Jeff Rehmet

Best Drummer/Percussionist: Chris Robbins

Best Painting: Michelle Ward Ciancio

Best Music Festival: Bristol Rhythm and Roots

Best Podcast: Steve Shell and Cam Collins for Old Gods of Appalachia

Best Radio Personality: Brittany Rowe

Best Small Live Music Venue: The Jettie Baker Center

Best Recording Studio/Engineer/Producer: Mill Springs

Studio Best TV Personality: Lynda Fontaine

Best Jazz/Latin/Big Band/World: The Hunt Butler Band

Best Original Song: Darrell Pittman

Best Pop: Alabaster Boxer

Best Religious/Worship/Spiritual: Jarfly Gospel Hour Band

Best Rock: Shades of Raven

Best Singer-Songwriter: Donnie Bowling

Best Americana: Ron Short

Best Bluegrass: Jonathan Goodwin

Best Blues: Rachel Crowe

Best Country: Savannah Dean Reeves

Best Funk/R&B/Reggae: Brett Higgins and the Family

Best Indie/Indie Folk: Brando Vanschoyck

Best Logo Design/Graphic Designer: Jess Bowman

Best Guitarist: Rob Lightner

Best Strings (Non-guitar/Bass): Tiffany Rose Shanta

Best Male Vocalist: Chase Bush

Best Music Video: The Goodwin Brothers — Everyday Thing

Best Jewelry Design: Tina Rush

Best Tattoo Artist: Matt Bartley

Best Traditional Appalachian: Ashton Brett Dunn

Best Textile: Susan Downs Freeman

Best Large Live Music Venue (501 seats or greater): Corbin Arena

Best Original Movie/Short Film/Documentary: Elaine Sheldon/Curran Sheldon

Best Author/Writer: Storm Young

Billie Jean Osborne Community Arts & Entertainment Award: Gayle Manchin

Star City Award: John McEuen