The full list of MPs who are standing down at the next general election

Tom Herbert, Harriet Brewis
Boris Johnson lost the vote to call an October snap election last month: AP

The UK is set for the most unpredictable general election campaign in decades, following months of unrest within the two main parties.

While Boris Johnson’s threats to hold an October election were silenced in the Commons last month, another vote is still widely expected before the end of the year.

The next election technically isn’t due until 2022, but the government has repeatedly pushed to bring this forward in a bid to restore the Conservative Party's ruling majority.

While uncertainty persists over when it will take place, a number of MPs from across the political spectrum have already announced they will be stepping down at the next election.

Here is the full list.

Mark Field announced he is stepping down as Tory MP for the Cities of London and Westminster (PA)


  • John Bercow - MP for Buckingham and Commons speaker

  • Glyn Davies - MP for Montgomeryshire

  • Michael Fallon - MP for Sevenoaks and former defence secretary

  • Nick Hurd - MP for Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner and Northern Ireland minister

  • Jo Johnson - MP for Orpington and universities minister. Brother of Boris Johnson

  • Jeremy Lefroy - MP for Stafford

  • Claire Perry - MP for Devizes

  • Mark Prisk - MP for Hertford & Stortford

  • Keith Simpson - MP for Broadland

  • Caroline Spelman - MP for Meriden and former environment secretary

  • David Tredinnick - MP for Boswort

  • Mark Field - MP for Cities of London and Westminster


Kate Hoey will stand down as MP for Vauxhall at the next election (PA)
  • Kevin Barron - MP for Rother Valley

  • Ronnie Campbell - MP for Blyth Valley

  • Gloria De Piero - MP for Ashfield and shadow justice minister

  • Jim Fitzpatrick - MP for Poplar and Limehouse

  • Kate Hoey - MP for Vauxhall

  • John Mann - MP for Bassetlaw

  • Albert Owen - MP for Ynys Mon

  • Teresa Pearce - MP for Erith and Thamesmead and ex-shadow housing minister

  • Stephen Pound - MP for Ealing North

  • Geoffrey Robinson - MP for Coventry North West

  • Stephen Twigg - MP for Liverpool West Derby

Lib Dem

Sir Vince Cable won't stand for re-election (EPA)
  • Vince Cable - MP for Twickenham and former leader of the Lib Dems

  • Norman Lamb - North Norfolk


Ken Clarke announced he will not stand again (PA)
  • Guto Bebb - MP for Aberconwy and former defence minister

  • Richard Benyon - MP for Newbury

  • Nick Boles - Grantham

  • Alastair Burt - MP for North East Bedfordshire and former Foreign Office minister

  • Kenneth Clarke - MP for Rushcliffe since 1970. Former chancellor, home secretary, justice secretary, health secretary and education secretary and the Father of the House

  • Justine Greening - MP for Putney and former education secretary

  • Richard Harrington - MP for Watford

  • Oliver Letwin - MP for West Dorset and ex-Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster

  • Sir Nicholas Soames - MP for Mid Sussex. Grandson of Winston Churchill, former defence minister and shadow defence secretary

  • Rory Stewart - MP for Penrith and The Border and former international development secretary. Standing for mayor of London

  • Amber Rudd - MP for Hastings and Rye and former work and pensions secretary, home secretary and energy secretary

Also, these are the 21 MPs who had the Tory whip withdrawn for voting against the government in September

Philip Hammond was among Tory MPs to vote against the Prime Minister (AFP/Getty Images)
  • Kenneth Clarke

  • Philip Hammond

  • David Gauke

  • Greg Clark

  • Sir Oliver Letwin

  • Justine Greening

  • Dominic Grieve

  • Rory Stewart

  • Sir Nicholas Soames

  • Alistair Burt

  • Sam Gyimah

  • Stephen Hammond

  • Guto Bebb

  • Richard Benyon

  • Steve Brine

  • Richard Harrington

  • Margot James

  • Anne Milton

  • Caroline Nokes

  • Antoinette Sandbach

  • Edward Vaizey​

Amber Rudd voluntarily gave up the Tory whip when she quit the Cabinet as work and pensions secretary and minister for women and equalities.

---Watch the latest videos from Yahoo UK---