General election 2024: The candidates standing in Ceredigion Preseli

The Ceredigion seat has been a safe Plaid Cymru seat, but this election the boundary change means a large chunk of the Conservative leaning part of Pembrokeshire will also be added to the constituency which will now be known as Ceredigion Preseli. Ben Lake has been MP for Ceredigion since 2019.

The boundaries of all but one Welsh seat have changed ahead of the 2024 election, only Ynys Mon (the island of Anglesey) remains untouched, all others have seen changes which could impact the results on election night. You can read the background to the changes here.

Instead of 40 constituencies, there are now 32 in Wales and the idea behind it is to make all Westminster constituencies the same size. Using figures from electoral calculus, we can see the new Ceredigion Preseli will be the whole former Ceredigion seat with 30.1% of Preseli Pembrokeshire.

READ MORE: What is my general election 2024 constituency - as 90% of areas hit by boundary changes

READ MORE: UK general election postal vote details including how to register and how it works

The election is taking place on Thursday, July 4 and 32 MPs will be elected to represent Wales.

Where does the constituency cover?

It includes St Dogmaels, Capel Dewi, Aberaeron, Aberporth, numerous Aberystwyth wards, Fishguard and Goodwick.

You can also find your constituency by entering your postcode here:

What happened in the general election in 2019

Who is standing?

  • Taghrid Al-Mawed (Workers Party of Britain)

  • Tomos Iwan Barlow (Green Party)

  • Jackie Jones (Labour)

  • Ben Morgan Lake (Plaid Cymru)

  • Karl Robert Pollard (Reform UK)

  • Aled Thomas (Conservatives)

  • Mark Fraser Williams (Lib Dem)