Germany bans travellers from Britain, South Africa until Jan. 6 - document

Berlin Brandenburg Airport

BERLIN (Reuters) - Germany has imposed a travel ban for anyone coming from Britain, Northern Ireland and South Africa, which could remain in place until Jan. 6, according to a document seen by Reuters.

Rail and bus operators, shipping companies and airlines are forbidden to transport people from those countries to Germany, it said.

German citizens and people living in the country may return home from Jan. 1, but any flights will have to be approved by authorities, it said.

(Reporting by Andreas Rinke; Writing by Maria Sheahan; Editing by Riham Alkousaa)