Iconic McDonald's item could be unsuitable for millions of people

McDonald's Restaurant in Lord Street, Liverpool
-Credit: (Image: Liverpool Echo)


A popular item on the McDonald's menu could be a problem to certain fast food fans.

The hot apple pie has been a McDonald's staple since the chain began. Millions of customers across the UK will be partial to the sweet treat in order to round off their meal.

At a glance, the fried item seems like a great choice if you follow a vegetarian diet with no trace of an animal product in sight. But, veggie fans have been warned that they shouldn't be ordering this.

READ MORE: We tried all the new McDonald's Happy Meal items and found a new favourite

READ MORE: McDonald's issues five weeks notice to anyone who eats fries

McDonald's lists the full ingredients on its website, and in-store customers can request this information from the staff working behind the counter. Even an eagle-eyed customer will not spot the problem if they comb through this list.

The truth about why the product isn't right for some is available on the FAQ section of McDonald's website. It explained that the cooking process is the problem.

McDonald's Apple Pie
McDonald's Apple Pie -Credit:McDonald's

A spokesperson for the fast food chain said: "McDonald's Apple Pies are made with ingredients that are suitable for vegetarians - i.e. contain no ingredients of animal origin - and they are cooked in dedicated frying vats using a non hydrogenated blend of rapeseed and sunflower oil (100% vegetable oil). However, due to the design of the oil filtration system there is a small chance the oil used to fry the Apple Pies can come into contact with oil used to cook chicken and fish products during the oil filtering process. We therefore cannot guarantee that cross contamination will not occur."

This week, the Golden Arches brought out a Galaxy Chocolate and Raspberry pie in one of its usual menu shake-ups. It is also unsuitable for vegetarian customers for the exact same reason.

The same cooking process also puts any of the cheesy side orders, like the new Mozzarella Bites, off the menu for vegetarian customers. The fries and breakfast hash browns are cooked in separate frying vats that do not come into contact with anything containing meat or fish so these are deemed suitable for both vegetarians and vegans.

Don't miss the biggest and breaking stories by signing up to the Echo Daily newsletter here