Instagram is now warning people when someone screenshots a Story

Rob Waugh
Contributor

It’s a standard behaviour for creepy people on the internet: screenshotting Instagram’s self-deleting stories ‘to keep’.

But the social network is now testing a feature which will warn users whenever someone screenshots a Story.

The feature is under test right now, Instagram has confirmed, with some users already receiving warnings that if they take screenshots it will be visible to the person who posted the Story.

The system means that people who take a screenshot will be flagged in the list of story viewers, with a screenshot icon next to their name.

At present, it appears that users see a ‘warning’ when the feature is activated, saying that the next time they screenshot a story, it will be visible.


 


Instagram told TechCrunch, ‘We are always testing ways to improve the experience on Instagram and make it easier to share any moment with the people who matter to you.’

MOST POPULAR TODAY ON YAHOO UK

If you’re thinking the feature sounds familiar, you’re right – it’s yet another idea already familiar from Snapchat.