All-Ireland SFC quarter-final draw explainer with Armagh, Derry and Donegal to learn their fate on Monday

Derry’s Conor Glass celebrates scoring a penalty during the shootout against Mayo in Castlebar on Saturday night
-Credit: (Image: ©INPHO/James Crombie)

The All-Ireland Senior Football Championship quarter-final draw takes place on Monday morning with three Ulster teams left standing in the race for the Sam Maguire Cup.

Ulster champions Donegal topped Group Three while Armagh were winners of Group One with Dublin and Kerry also going straight through to the last eight.

They’ll be on side side of the draw with the four winners from this weekend’s preliminary quarter-finals on the other.

Read more: Recap as Down set up Laois Tailteann Cup decider after extra-time win over 14-man Sligo

Read more: End Game: GAA fans facing travel chaos in Dublin with All-Ireland SFC quarter-finals to clash with Taylor Swift gigs

Derry are in the hat for the quarter-final after their penalty shoot-out win over Mayo in Castlebar on Saturday night.

Galway battled past Monaghan in Pearse Stadium while Roscommon produced one of the biggest shocks of the Championship to date as they claimed a deserved two-point win over Tyrone in Omagh.

Louth completed the quarter-final line-up with Sam Mulroy’s late free giving them a one-point win over Cork in Inniskeen on Sunday afternoon.

Monday’s draw is subject to an avoidance of repeat pairing from the provincial finals and games from the group stages.

Teams who have met prior to that can play against each other. For instance, Donegal could be pitted against Derry in what would be a repeat of their Ulster SFC quarter-final clash.

However, as Armagh have already played both Derry and Galway in the group stages, they can only be drawn against either Roscommon or Louth whereas Donegal can draw any of the four preliminary quarter-final winners.

While Derry cannot be drawn against Armagh, Mickey Harte’s side can play Donegal, Dublin or Kerry.

The four quarter-finals are scheduled to be played as double-headers at Croke Park on Saturday, June 29 and Sunday, June 30 with Monday's draw taking place live on RTÉ Radio One's Morning Ireland show from 8.35am.

Possible quarter-final opponents for Ulster teams:

Armagh: Louth or Roscommon

Derry: Donegal, Dublin or Kerry

Donegal: Derry, Louth, Roscommon or Galway.

Sign up to our free sports newsletter to get the latest headlines to your inbox