Jeremy Corbyn and Nicola Sturgeon team up in bid to block draft Brexit deal

Aubrey Allegretti, political reporter

Jeremy Corbyn and Nicola Sturgeon have teamed up in a bid to block the government's draft Brexit deal - and stop a "no deal" divorce.

The Labour leader and Scottish First Minister joined a delegation including shadow chancellor John McDonnell and shadow Brexit secretary Sir Keir Starmer to discuss blocking a "blind" separation from the EU.

They met the leader of the Liberal Democrats, Sir Vince Cable, and other senior representatives from the Greens and Plaid Cymru.

It comes as a series of key Labour MPs - who represent Leave-backing constituencies that the government was relying on to help pass a Brexit deal - revealed they would be voting against it.

Speaking to Sky News after the opposition parties' summit, Mrs Sturgeon said there was a united anger at the government's deal.

She said they refused to accept the "spin" that MPs could trigger a no deal Brexit by rejecting the agreement expected to be signed off in Brussels on Sunday.

"The next part of this process, and arguably the most important part, is to build a consensus around the alternative," Mrs Sturgeon said.

"We know what the options are - the single market and the customs union, a People's Vote are two of those options.

"Extending A50 (Article 50) almost becomes an inevitably if we're going to leave the room open for these other options."

Mrs Sturgeon added she had been given a private briefing of the latest version of the political declaration on the UK's future relationship with Brussels but it remains "so vague and so aspirational".

Prime Minister Theresa May needs to win a vote in parliament to ratify her Brexit divorce deal.

Several opposition MPs were expected to back her, helping balance out the Tory backbenchers who have pledged to sink the agreement.

But key Labour leavers, including Graham Stringer and Kate Hoey, have suggested they will not support Mrs May, because her deal is not true enough to the wishes of those to leave the EU in 2016.