Johnson pledges allegiance to King as Commons returns following Queen’s funeral

Boris Johnson was among the latest group of MPs to pledge allegiance to the King as the House of Commons met for the first time since the Queen’s funeral.The Conservative former prime minister was the 15th MP on Wednesday to take an oath of allegiance to Charles.Transport Secretary Anne-Marie Trevelyan was the first MP to swear in on Wednesday followed by Home Secretary Suella Braverman.The wording of the oath means MPs have already pledged their allegiance to the heirs and successors of the Queen, meaning they do not have to do it again at this point.A total of 31 MPs pledged their allegiance to Charles during the first swearing-in session on September 10.