Just Seven Countries Are Now On The UK Government's 'Red' Travel List

·1-min read
(Photo: Hugh R Hastings via Getty Images)
(Photo: Hugh R Hastings via Getty Images)

The government has reduced England’s travel “red list” to just seven – down from 54.

Forty-seven destinations including South Africa will be removed from England’s red list on Monday, Transport Secretary Grant Shapps has announced.

The travel red list will be reduced to Colombia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Haiti, Panama, Peru and Venezuela.

It said 4the 7 countries will be removed from the red list from 4am on Monday, making it easier for more people to travel abroad to a larger number of countries. Passengers returning to England from these destinations will no longer be required to enter hotel quarantine.

The government will also extend the inbound vaccinated arrivals system to a further 37 countries and territories across the globe including India, South Africa and Turkey, meaning eligible passengers arriving from rest of world countries only need to take a day two test in England.

And it said passengers will be able to send a picture of their lateral flow test as a minimum requirement to verify test result accuracy and keep prices down once day two tests switch to lateral flow later this month, followed by a free PCR test if positive.

This is a breaking news story and will be updated. Follow HuffPost UK on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

This article originally appeared on HuffPost UK and has been updated.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting