Labour wins new seats in Runcorn and Widnes in General Election

-Credit: (Image:
-Credit: (Image:

Labour has safely swept home in two new constituencies on the banks of the River Mersey.

Mike Amesbury secured a comfortable majority as he claimed the Runcorn and Helsby seat for his party as it continued its march to power. Veteran MP Derek Twigg will be returned to Westminster in the newly drawn Widnes and Halewood seat after taking more than 23,000 votes.

Mr Twigg, who was first elected in 1997, will spend five more years in Parliament after seeing off a surprise challenge from Reform UK candidate Jason Moorcroft who came in second.

READ MORE: Liverpool showed the way and now the rest of the country has followed

READ MORE: Live General election results for Liverpool and Merseyside as Labour storm to landslide victory

Mr Amesbury, originally elected to Weaver Vale in 2017 and today's winner with 22,358 votes, said: “Politics is broken after 14 years of division and we now need economic stability and to get the NHS back on its feet, establish a nationals social care service over time and get people’s bills down.”

Jade Marsden, the Conservative candidate for Runcorn and Helsby, polled third and reflected on a difficult night for her party. She said: “It looked absolutely devastating last week but with the exit poll that’s given us something to rebuild on with fresh ideas.”

The Liberal Democrats finished fifth in both counts. The Workers Party of Britain in the Widnes and Halewood vote, and The Social Democratic Party, and Liberal Party in the Runcorn and Helsby vote, all failed to garner more than 500 votes each.

In his victory speech, Mr Twigg stated he will never take his support for granted. He added: “I will work hard to bring in more resources here and work hard to improve the lives of people who live here.”

Don't miss the biggest and breaking stories by signing up to the Echo Daily newsletter here