Lance Todd Trophy voting breakdown as Bevan French storms to victory

Bevan French became the latest winner of the Lance Todd trophy after running out a comfortable winner for the man of the match award. The Wigan Warriors superstar polled 73.5% of the votes from the assembled press and broadcasters, registering 25 of the 34 votes cast.

French scored one try and set another up as Wigan ran out 18-8 winners at Wembley, a victory that means they have hold all four available trophies at the same time. His latest performance only adds to his Super League legacy, one that has plenty of time to grow further yet.

He was one of only five players to receive votes by the media. What isn't a surprise is that all five were Wigan players. Liam Farrell and Harry Smith were joint-second, but a long way behind French's 25-vote haul. They received three votes each. Australian forward Kaide Ellis received two votes after an impressive 80-minute stint, while one vote was given to Jai Field, who set up Farrell's try in the second-half.

Click here - Get the latest news on our Rugby League Live WhatsApp channel

It means halfbacks are now back-to-back winners of the award, with Leigh Leopards' Lachlan Lam winning the trophy last year. Four of the last nine winners have been halfbacks, with Marc Sneyd winning it back-to-back in 2016 and 2017.

Lance Todd Trophy voting

Bevan French 25
Liam Farrell 3
Harry Smith 3
Kaide Ellis 2
Jai Field 1