List of new cardinals named by Pope Francis

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
·2-min read
Pope Francis leads Regina Caeli prayer from his window, at the Vatican
In this article:
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

VATICAN CITY (Reuters) - Here is a list of the 21 men Pope Francis will install as Roman Catholic cardinals at a ceremony known as a consistory on Aug. 27.

Cardinal Electors under 80 will be able to enter a conclave to elect the next pope after Francis dies or retires:

1. Archbishop Arthur Roche (British) - Prefect of the Vatican Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments

2. Archbishop Lazzaro You Heung-sik (South Korean) - Prefect of the Vatican Congregation for the Clergy

3. Archbishop Fernando Vérgez Alzaga (Spanish) - President of the Pontifical Commission for Vatican City State and President of the Governorate for Vatican City State

4. Archbishop Jean-Marc Aveline - Metropolitan Archbishop of Marseille, France

5. Bishop Peter Okpaleke - Bishop of Ekwulobia, Nigeria

6. Archbishop Leonardo Ulrich Steiner - Metropolitan Archbishop of Manaus, Brazil

7. Archbishop Filipe Neri António Sebastião di Rosário Ferrão - Archbishop of Goa and Damão, India

8. Bishop Robert Walter McElroy – Bishop of San Diego, California, United States

9. Archbishop Virgilio Do Carmo Da Silva - Archbishop of Dili, East Timor

10. Bishop Oscar Cantoni - Bishop of Como, Italy

11. Archbishop Anthony Poola - Archbishop of Hyderabad, India

12. Archbishop Paulo Cezar Costa - Metropolitan Archbishop of Brasília, Brazil

13. Bishop Richard Kuuia Baawobr - Bishop of Wa, Ghana

14. Archbishop William Goh Seng Chye - Archbishop of Singapore

15. Archbishop Adalberto Martínez Flores - Metropolitan Archbishop of Asunción, Paraguay

16. Archbishop Giorgio Marengo (Italian) – Apostolic Prefect of Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia.

New cardinals over 80:

1. Archbishop Jorge Enrique Jiménez Carvajal - Archbishop Emeritus of Cartagena, Colombia

2. Archbishop Lucas Van Looy - Archbishop Emeritus of Gent, Belgium

3. Archbishop Arrigo Miglio - Archbishop Emeritus of Cagliari, Italy

4. Fr. Gianfranco Ghirlanda, S.J. – Professor of Theology

5. Msgr. Fortunato Frezza – Canon of Saint Peter's Basilica

(Reporting by Philip Pullella; Editing by Mark Potter)

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting