Little Mix announces first new single without Jesy Nelson

Jacob Stolworthy
·1-min read

Little Mix have announced their first new music since the departure of Jesy Nelson.

Nelson quit the band in December 2020, explaining that she came to her decision due to the toll being a member was taking on her mental health.

“There comes a time in life when we need to reinvest in taking care of ourselves rather than focusing on making other people happy, and I feel like now is the time to begin that process,” she wrote on social media.

Following the news, Little Mix fans were left wondering what Nelson’s departure meant for the future of the band, who formed onThe X Factor in 2011.

They announced plans to continue as a trio and now members Jade Thirlwall, Leigh-Anne Pinnock and Perrie Edwards are set to release their first new music without Nelson.

It will be a new version of “Confetti” taken from their 2020 album of the same name. The track is a collaboration with the rapper Saweetie, and will be released on 30 April.

Jesy Nelson quit Little Mix in December 2020Getty Images
Jesy Nelson quit Little Mix in December 2020Getty Images

"The news you’ve all been waiting for... our brand new single Confetti featuring @Saweetie is out 30/04,” the band wrote on Twitter.

It is unknown whether Nelson’s vocals will feature on the new version.

Read More

Brit Awards to include maskless crowd of 4,000 as part of government event pilot scheme

Thousands of Prince fans queue at Paisley Park to see singer’s urn for the first time

Miley Cyrus mocks headlines about her dating life in amusing TikTok video