How London MPs are set to side in the confidence vote on Boris Johnson

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
·4-min read
In this article:
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
 (Andrew Parsons/No10 Downing Street)
(Andrew Parsons/No10 Downing Street)

London’s Tory MPs appear to be split on whether Boris Johnson should remain leader of the Conservative party.

Sir Graham Brady, the chairman of the backbench 1922 Committee, confirmed he had received the 54 letters needed to trigger a confidence vote in the Prime Minister.

Twenty-one Conservatives representing London constituencies, including the Prime Minister as MP for Uxbridge and South Ruislip, will vote on Monday evening.

Seven London MPs have come out in support of the PM, while four were among those who submitted letters of no confidence to Sir Graham.

A ballot will take place in Westminster between 6pm and 8pm, with the count to take place immediately afterwards.

In order to force a leadership contest, the rebels will need 180 MPs to vote against the PM.

The ballot is confidential but as of 4pm on Monday, below are the London MPs who have come out in support of Mr Johnson and those who helped force the confidence vote:


Gareth Bacon, MP for Orpington, said: “I’ll be backing Boris Johnson this evening.'

Sir David Evennett, MP for Bexleyheath and Crayford, said: “I do not believe this is the right moment for a leadership contest."

Greg Hands, MP for Chelsea and Fulham, said: "I will be backing the Prime Minister tonight. I didn’t back him in 2019, but he has done a very good job."

Chris Philp, Croydon South MP, said: "Boris Johnson deserves support today and he will have mine."

Paul Scully, MP for Sutton and Cheam, said: "I'll be voting in support of the PM this evening. We need to concentrate on cost of living and a war in Europe rather than three months of a leadership contest."

Julia Lopez, MP for Hornchurch & Upminster, said: “I’m backing [the] PM tonight.”

Mike Freer, MP for Finchley and Golders Green and Equalities Minister, said: “I have worked with the PM since his City Hall days. He has delivered on local issues.”


Elliot Colburn, MP for Carshalton and Wallington, submitted a letter of no confidence in Mr Johnson last week.

Stephen Hammond, MP for Wimbledon, confirmed his letter shortly after the Sue Gray report was released and said: “I have said consistently throughout I cannot and will not defend the indefensible.”

Sir Bob Neill, MP for Bromley & Chislehurst, submitted a letter to the 1922 Committee and said for the Conservatives to win the next general election it would require "a change of leader".

David Simmonds, MP for Ruislip, Northwood & Pinner, said: “It is time for him to step down so that new leadership can take forward the important work of the government.”


Nickie Aiken, MP for City and Westminster, previously said the PM should call a confidence ballot, but has not said how she would vote.

Iain Duncan Smith, MP for Chingford and Woodford Green, was the first Tory leader to face a confidence vote in 2003. He said last week that his party had been left with an “enormous identity problem” because it had raised taxes instead of cutting them under Mr Johnson.

Bob Blackman, MP for Harrow East, has been deeply critical of the events outlined in the partygate report and said: “I am clear that those who set the rules must abide by them or face the consequences.” However he has not said publicly whether he would vote for or against the PM in a confidence vote.

Felcity Buchan, MP for Kensington, has not publicly commented on Mr Johnson’s future as leader of the Tory party.

Louie French, MP for Old Bexley & Sidcup, was elected in a by-election in 2019 and has not publicly commented on Mr Johnson’s future as leader of the Tory party.

Matthew Offord, MP for Hendon, described lockdown events in Downing Street as “horrendous” but he has not any public comments in support of or against the Prime Minister’s leadership.

Theresa Villiers, MP for Chipping Barnet, has praised the PM’s work on the Covid vaccination programme but not publicly commented on Mr Johnson’s future.

Colonel Bob Stewart, MP for Beckenham, told LBC in January that he would be loyal to Mr Johnson and could not see “anyone else" leading the party. He has not commented since the confidence vote was called.

Andrew Rosindell, MP for Romford, has not publicly commented on Mr Johnson’s future.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting