Major change thousands of voters will only notice on General Election day

Rishi Sunak called the election last week (Photo by HENRY NICHOLLS/AFP via Getty Images)
-Credit: (Image: HENRY NICHOLLS/AFP via Getty Images)

Voters across Merseyside are gearing up for polling day - but thousands may not realise their constituency has changed.

The boundaries of all but two Merseyside constituencies have changed since the 2019 General Election. Of the fifteen Merseyside parliamentary constituencies that were contested in the 2019 General Election, only the seats of Bootle and St Helens North remain unchanged for the upcoming election on July 4.

Some constituencies, such as Sefton Central and St Helens North & Whiston have been only slightly altered, with around 90% of households in the seats being unaffected by the boundary changes. Other constituencies appear almost unrecognisable from their previous form. The Walton constituency has been drastically altered with almost 40% of households who voted in Walton in 2019 now electing candidates in the Liverpool, Riverside constituency.

READ MORE: Young people in Liverpool react to 'backwards' national service plan

READ MORE: Liverpool gangster Daniel Gee absconds from prison

Similarly, the areas of Mossley Hill, Greenbank, and Aigburth have gone from being in Riverside to now being in the Wavertree constituency.

Some of the constituencies in the South of the Merseyside have been renamed, signalling the significant changes made to the boundary lines. The town of Halewood has been moved to the new Widnes & Halewood constituency, causing the previous Garston & seat to be renamed simply Liverpool Garston.

Another notable change in Merseyside’s electoral geography is that Croxteth has been moved from West Derby to the Walton constituency. Constituency alternations are not new. The boundaries of the UK’s 650 constituencies are often revised to ensure each constituency has a similar number of residents. This ensures each MP represents a similar number of voices in Parliament.

The Boundary Commission for England states that the number of residents in each constituency must be “no smaller than 69,724 and no larger than 77,062.”

There are five protected island area constituencies that are not bound by this rule, including the Orkney and Shetland constituency which has an electorate of just over 33,000.

In the most recent boundary revision, only 55 of the 533 seats in England were left unchanged.

Don't miss the biggest and breaking stories by signing up to the Echo Daily newsletter here