Man Utd trio miss Burnley clash as Jonny Evans & Hannibal start

Lisandro Martinez has not been passed fit for Manchester United's game against Burnley.
Lisandro Martinez has not been passed fit for Manchester United's game against Burnley.

Manchester United trio Lisandro Martinez, Harry Maguire and Mason Mount have not been passed fit for Saturday night's Premier League encounter against Burnley.

All three were not spotted among United's squad that arrived at Turf Moor around 90 minutes before kick-off. Martinez's absence is a fresh absentee - although he did struggle with a knock over the recent international break. Erik ten Hag confirmed in Friday's press conference that Maguire and Mount were doubts, and have subsequently not been named in the squad.

However, Raphael Varane and Sofyan Ambrat, both of whom were injury doubts, were seen arriving with the squad. Donny van de Beek and Dan Gore were also seen in the group.

But the absences of Maguire, Martinez and Mount add to the ever increasing injury list at United, with Aaron Wan-Bissaka, Luke Shaw, Tyrell Malacia, Kobbie Mainoo and Amad also injured, while Jadon Sancho and Antony are not options for Ten Hag due to footballing reasons.

Despite Varane's return, it's Jonny Evans who was named in United's starting XI, along with Victor Lindelof at centre-back. It's a back five made up of Andre Onana, Diogo Dalot and Sergio Regulion. In midfield, Ten Hag has gone back to a diamond, as he used last week against Brighton & Hove Albion, with Casemiro, Scott McTominay, Hannibal and Bruno Fernandes starting. Marcus Rashford and Rasmus Hojlund make up the starting XI and will play as central strikers.

For Evans, it's a first start for United since 2015, while Hannibal makes his second senior start for the club. Varane, Amrabat, Gore and Van de Beek were named among the substitutes. United are hoping to end a run of four defeats in the last five, while the Red Devils have lost all three of their away matches this season.

United team: Onana; Dalot, Lindelof, Evans, Reguilon; Casemiro, McTominay, Hannibal, Fernandes; Hojlund, Rashford. Substitutes: Bayindir, Varane, Amrabat, Gore, Eriksen, Van de Beek, Pellistri, Garnacho, Martial.