Map shows full list of updated green, amber and red countries for travel

Passengers walk through the International arrivals area of Terminal 5 in London's Heathrow Airport, Britain, August 2, 2021.  REUTERS/Peter Nicholls
Travellers arriving in the UK must follow the quarantine rules according to the government's traffic light system (Reuters)

The government has published its latest rules on overseas travel, which will come into effect on Monday at 4am.

The traffic light system lists countries and territories as red, amber or green - with different rules for each of the three lists. There is also a green watchlist.

Seven countries have been added to the current green list, and two have been moved to the red list.

This map shows which countries are currently on which list worldwide:

The world map illustrates which countries are on which list in the UK government's traffic light system (yahoo news uk)
The world map illustrates which countries are on which list according to the UK government's traffic light system (yahoo news uk)

The lists are reassessed every three weeks according to COVID rates in countries outside the UK.

Canada, Switzerland, Denmark, Finland, Lithuania, Liechtenstein and the Azores are now all on the green list, meaning travellers arriving from these destinations will no longer need to quarantine.

They do still have take a pre-departure COVID test and a PCR test on day two after arriving.

They join other popular holiday destinations such as Barbados, Malta, and Gibraltar.

However, Thailand and Montenegro have been added to the red list .

People returning from red list countries are required to pay to quarantine in a government-approved hotel for 10 days.

The cost of quarantining for 10 days for one adult is £2,285. Additional adults in the same party (aged 12 and over) pay £1,430, and children aged five to 11 are charged at £325 each.

The vast majority of countries are on the amber list.

Adults returning from amber list countries who are fully vaccinated in the UK, the US and most European countries don't have to self-isolate upon arrival in the UK. If not vaccinated they must quarantine at home for ten days.

A COVID test is needed three days before returning from an amber country, and a PCR test two days after arriving.

Watch: Young people told to get jabbed or 'miss out on the good times' as vaccine take up slows

Adults who are not fully vaccinated need to take an additional PCR test on or after day eight.

Under-18s do not have to self-isolate and in England, Wales and Northern Ireland children aged ten and under don't have to test before travel, but do need to take a test two days after arrival. Those aged four and under don't need any tests.

In Scotland, children over 12 have to take tests before returning home, and on day two.

Anyone found not to be following the quarantine rules could face a fine of up to £10,000.

Click here to see the full government lists.

Watch: COVID-19 - what are the current UK figures?