Mercury Prize winner 2020 announced: Michael Kiwanuka scoops award for his album KIWANUKA

·1-min read
Oliva Rose
Oliva Rose

Michael Kiwanuka has won this year’s Mercury Prize for his album KIWANUKA.

The Muswell Hill musician, who was odds-on favourite for the prize, triumphed over 11 other nominees including Stormzy, Dua Lipa, Charli XCX and Laura Marling

It means he claims a £25,000 cash prize and joins an illustrious list of former winners, which over the years has featured the likes of Dave, PJ Harvey, Dizzee Rascal and Arctic Monkeys.

Due to the current restrictions on large events, the winner was announced by DJ Annie Mac live on the BBC during an episode of The One Show, in lieu of the usual awards ceremony.

The 12-strong judging panel this year featured artists such as Jorja Smith and Anna Calvi, alongside a number of prominent figures from the worlds of music and journalism. The shortlist, which was tasked with identifying the best British or Irish album from the past year, made history in 2020 with a record number of women — eight out of the 12 nominees were either women, bands fronted by women or bands with a female member.

The full list of artists and albums nominated for the 2020 prize is:

  • Anna Meredith — FIBS

  • Charli XCX — how i’m feeling now

  • Dua Lipa — Future Nostalgia

  • Georgia — Seeking Thrills

  • Kano — Hoodies All Summer

  • Lanterns on the Lake — Spook the Herd

  • Laura Marling — Song for Our Daughter

  • Michael Kiwanuka — KIWANUKA [WINNER]

  • Moses Boyd — Dark Matter

  • Porridge Radio — Every Bad

  • Sports Team — Deep Down Happy

  • Stormzy — Heavy is the Head

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting