The MPs elected in each Northern Ireland constituency at the 2019 General Election

-Credit: (Image: Jonathan Porter/PressEye)
-Credit: (Image: Jonathan Porter/PressEye)

Northern Ireland will head to the polls next month for the UK General Election. The election will see 650 MPs voted to represent constituencies around the UK at the House of Commons in Westminster.

In Northern Ireland, 18 MPs will be voted in for each of the constituencies here. There are a total of 136 candidates competing for your vote across these constituencies.

This election will be the first fought on the new boundaries which saw changes to the geographical areas including South Belfast having been renamed Belfast South and Mid Down. The changes came about after The Parliamentary Constituencies Act 2020 required that most seats have between 69,724 and 77,062 voters.

Read more: The Conservative Party's manifesto pledges on Northern Ireland

Read more: Tell us how you feel about the NHS, cost of living and more

We already know that four of our current 18 MPs will be standing down at this election, but with a number of seats in play, the make-up of the Northern Ireland representation in Westminster after the July 4 election could be very different.

The last UK General Election took place on December 12, 2019. At that election, the DUP were the party with most MPs elected with eight, followed by Sinn Féin with seven, the SDLP with two, and the Alliance Party with one.

Northern Ireland MPs elected at 2019 General Election

  • Belfast North - John Finucane, Sinn Féin

  • Belfast East - Gavin Robinson, DUP

  • Belfast West - Paul Maskey, Sinn Féin

  • Belfast South - Claire Hanna, SDLP

  • West Tyrone - Órfhlaith Begley, Sinn Féin

  • Newry and Armagh - Mickey Brady, Sinn Féin

  • East Londonderry - Gregory Campbell, DUP

  • Lagan Valley - Jeffrey Donaldson, DUP

  • Foyle - Collum Eastwood, SDLP

  • North Down - Stephen Farry, Alliance

  • Fermanagh and South Tyrone - Michelle Gildernew, Sinn Féin

  • South Antrim - Paul Girvan, DUP

  • South Down - Chris Hazzard, Sinn Féin

  • Upper Bann - Carla Lockhart, DUP

  • Mid Ulster - Francie Molloy, Sinn Féin

  • North Antrim - Ian Paisley Jr, DUP

  • Strangford - Jim Shannon, DUP

  • East Antrim - Sammy Wilson, DUP

For all the latest news, visit the Belfast Live homepage here and sign up to our daily newsletter here.