Newark general election 2024 candidates as polling day nears

Newark town centre
-Credit: (Image: Laycie Beck)

Voters across Nottinghamshire are heading to the polls on July 4 to have their say on who should govern the country. Candidates have been picked to contest seats across the county from a broad range of parties, whilst some candidates are standing as independents.

Although much of the national conversation will be dominated by the party leaders, voters do not directly vote for a Prime Minister. Instead, they have the chance to decide who should represent them as their area's MP in the House of Commons.

The party with the largest number of MPs goes on to form a government, with the leader of that party serving as Prime Minister. Both the Conservatives and Labour have picked who will be standing for them in the vast majority of Nottinghamshire's 11 constituencies.

Nottinghamshire is made up of three city constituencies and eight county ones. Below are all the candidates, presented in alphabetical order by surname, for Newark.

Get the latest general election updates and results straight to your phone


Michael Ackroyd


Saj Ahmad

Independent Network

Adrian Amer

English Democrats

Matthew Darrington


Lyn Galbraith


Robert Jenrick


Robert Palmer

Workers Party of Britain

Collan Siddique

Liberal Democrats

David Watts