Nobel Prize 2019 winners: Peace, physics, medicine and literature prizes, plus awards schedule

Tom Herbert
Members of the Swedish Royal Family and Nobel laureates attend the opening of the award ceremony in 2017: Getty

The Nobel Prize winners are being announced throughout this week, with the world-famous peace award handed out later on.

Teenage climate change activist Greta Thunberg has been heavily tipped to win the coveted Nobel Peace Prize, after a "school strike for climate" which reached all corners of the globe.

Meanwhile the Nobel Prize in Literature will name the winners of both the 2018 and 2019 awards, after last year's award was shelved amid a sexual assault scandal that rocked the Swedish Academy.

Among the favourites are Canadian poet Anne Carson, novelists Maryse Conde of Guadeloupe and Can Xue of China and Canadian writer Margaret Atwood, author of "The Handmaid's Tale," which has been made into a hit TV series.

Here's all you need to know.

When is the Nobel Peace Prize announced?

The winner of the Nobel Peace Prize is the last award to be announced.

It will be handed out on Friday, October 11.

Who is favourite to win the Peace Prize?

Ms Thunberg is among the hot-favourites to scoop the award this year, with Donald Trump listed as a rank outsider behind several other world leaders, including two prime ministers, Abiy Ahmed of Ethiopia and Jacinda Ardern of New Zealand, and German Chancellor Angela Merkel.

The panel could also choose to acknowledge the joint leadership of Greece's Alexis Tsipras and North Macedonia's Zoran Zaev. The two prime ministers put 30 years of acrimony between their neighboring countries behind them when they agreed that the former Yugoslav republic should officially be renamed from Macedonia to North Macedonia and Greece should drop its objections to its neighbor joining NATO.

What is the schedule for the week?

The Nobel week began on Monday with the awards for physiology and medicine, while the Physics Prize was handed out out today.

Chemistry follows on Wednesday, with the Literature double-header on Thursday and the Peace Prize announced on Friday.

The economics prize - officially known as the Bank of Sweden Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, which is the only prize not created by the Swedish industrialist and inventor of dynamite - will be awarded on Oct. 14.

Nobel Prize 2019 winners

Nobel Prize in Physiology and Medicine: Professor William Kaelin Jr, Sir Peter Ratcliffe and Professor Gregg L. Semenza received the award jointly from the Nobel Committee.

The three scientists won the award for their discoveries "how cells sense and adapt to oxygen availability", the Nobel Committee said on Monday.

The discoveries made by the three men "have fundamental importance for physiology and have paved the way for promising new strategies to fight anaemia, cancer and many other diseases".

Nobel Prize in Physics: Canadian-American cosmologist James Peebles and Swiss scientists Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz.

The three received the award for ground-breaking work in astronomy, by shedding light on the evolution of the universe and discovering planets orbiting distant suns.

Read more

Nobel Prize winning author Toni Morrison dies aged 88