PFA Premier League Team of the Year 2021: Man City dominate; four from Tottenham and Manchester United

·2-min read
PFA Premier League Team of the Year 2021: Man City dominate; four from Tottenham and Manchester United
 (Getty Images)
(Getty Images)

Manchester City dominate the PFAPremier League team of the year with six of their Premier League-winning players making the cut along with Tottenham striker Harry Kane.

Man City stars Ederson, Joao Cancelo, John Stones, Ruben Dias, Kevin De Bruyne and Ilkay Gundogan were all recognised by their peers and voted into the divisional XI.

Goalkeeper Ederson won the Golden Glove for a second successive year, keeping 19 clean sheets, with defenders Cancelo, Stones and Dias also named.

Stones had a renaissance having previously fallen out of favour with Pep Guardiola, while Dias, who was the club’s record signing last summer, is widely credited as being the key addition to City’s squad.

De Bruyne’s creativity impressed again, despite spells out injured, while Gundogan’s 13 goals and two assists made him a standout player.

 (Pool via REUTERS)
(Pool via REUTERS)

If he gets his way Kane could be joining those six stars at City after a brilliant personal season in an average Tottenham side.

The England captain, who has told Spurs he wants to leave this summer, won the Golden Boot for the third time, with 23 goals and also topped the assists chart with 14.

To view this content, you'll need to update your privacy settings.
Please click here to do so.

His link-up play with Heung-min Son was a driving force behind Spurs’ ascent to the top of the table in Christmas and the South Korean is also voted in.

Son’s 17 goals and 10 assists were his best-ever haul and the 14 times he combined with Kane is a Premier League record, beating Alan Shearer and Chris Sutton’s 13 in 1994/95.

 (Tottenham Hotspur FC via Getty I)
(Tottenham Hotspur FC via Getty I)

Manchester United ended up trophyless again but Luke Shaw and Bruno Fernandes were both voted into the team after impressive seasons.

Shaw was the best-performing left-back while Fernandes scored 18 goals and added 12 assists.

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah also made the XI after running Kane close to the Golden Boot, scoring 22 goals - his joint second-highest tally.

PFA Premier League Team of the Year

(4-3-3): Ederson; Cancelo, Stones, Dias, Shaw; De Bruyne, Gundogan, Bruno Fernandes; Salah, Kane, Son

Read More

Transfer Talk! Conte Spurs no-go; Buendia blow for Arsenal; gossip

England players to continue taking the knee at Euros despite fan boos

Euro 2020 news: England prepare for Romania friendly - LIVE!

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting