All the places in UK covered by Met Office's thunderstorm warning today

-Credit: (Image: Danny Lawson/PA Wire)
-Credit: (Image: Danny Lawson/PA Wire)

The Met Office has issued a yellow weather warning for parts of the UK.

Areas including Rochdale, Oldham and Tameside, as well as parts of Cumbria, the North East, Yorkshire, Lincolnshire and the Midlands are covered by the alert. This storm warning comes into effect at 2pm today (Tuesday) and will continue until 7pm this evening.

Areas covered by the warning can anticipate heavy rainfall along with potential occurrences of thunder and lightning. Flooding is likely in certain sections of affected regions.

Read more: Police descend on the Printworks as huge brawl erupts outside nightclub

As per the Met Office's prediction, disrupted travel, particularly on road networks, as well as possible delays on both train and bus routes due to the anticipated heavy rains may occur.

Forewarnings from the Met Offices also mention, 'there is a small chance of fast flowing or deep floodwater causing danger to life'. The meteorologists further stated: "Heavy showers and thunderstorms will spread eastwards this afternoon before slowly fading later this evening."

"Where storms are particularly frequent 20 to 30 mm of rain may build up over 2 or 3 hours. Frequent lightning, hail and gusty winds will be additional hazards in some places."

Severe weather notices for thunderstorms have additionally been disseminated for regions of Scotland and Ireland. These warnings too come into effect from this afternoon and will continue till later in the evening.

Another warning is also in place tomorrow (Wednesday, May 29) from 10am to 7pm, but this will mostly affect Scotland.

All parts of the UK covered by the yellow thunderstorm warning

  • Carlisle

  • Hull

  • Leeds

  • Manchester

  • Norwich

  • Nottingham

  • Peterborough

  • Sheffield

  • York

  • Alness (Wednesday)

  • Aviemore (Wednesday)

  • Ayr

  • Dumfries

  • Edinburgh (Wednesday)

  • Inverness (Wednesday)

  • Kelso

  • Peebles

  • Perth (Wednesday)

Northern Ireland
  • Armagh

  • Ballycastle

  • Banbridge

  • Belfast

  • Coleraine

  • Cookstown

  • Craigavon

  • Larne

  • Maghera

  • Magherafelt

  • Newry