Pokemon Go's Easter event offers double XP, Lucky Egg discount and more

Ben Skipper
Pokémon Go Eggstravaganza Easter event

Pokémon Go's Eggstravaganza Easter event kicks off today, enticing players of the hit mobile game to go outside and play this upcoming four-day weekend with some egg-cellent bonuses, discounts and crucially, more Pokémon!

Over the next week, eggs requiring players to walk 2km to hatch will offer a great variety of Pokémon, plus there's also double experience on offer to all players and a 50% discount on Lucky Eggs, which offer double XP themselves.

Trending: Is this the iPhone 8? Leaked design reportedly show new Apple handset

Running from 9pm BST (10pm CEST, 4pm ET, 1pm PT) tonight (13 April), the event rolls on until Thursday 20 April at the same time.

Released in July 2016, Pokémon Go quickly became a global phenomenon thanks to its augmented reality gameplay which littered the real world with Pokémon, items and gyms to contest for control of with other players.

Don't miss: Google searches for 'World War 3' hit all-time high

While not as popular as it once was, earlier in April John Hanke, CEO of developer Niantic, revealed that 65 million people still play the game each month – an incredible number for any game.

In February Niantic added the bulk of Pokémon's second generation pocket monsters from the Gold and Silver games, giving players all new Pokémon to find and capture.

Most popular: John McAfee: 'I designed the best product in the world but hackers beat me'

Niantic hasn't revealed which Pokémon will now hatch from 2km eggs, but below we've listed all the Pokémon that currently do. Anyone who hatches a Zubat over the next week is going to be livid.

  • Bulbasaur
  • Charmander
  • Squirtle
  • Caterpie
  • Weedle
  • Spearow
  • Ekans
  • Nidoran (f)
  • Nidoran (m)
  • Zubat
  • Oddish
  • Venonat
  • Diglett
  • Abra
  • Machop
  • Bellsprout
  • Geodude
  • Slowpoke
  • Gastly
  • Krabby
  • Exeggcute
  • Goldeen
  • Magikarp
  • Cleffa (Gen2)
  • Igglybuff (Gen2)
  • Aipom (Gen2)
  • Chikorita (Gen2)
  • Totodile (Gen2)
  • Cyndaquil (Gen2)
  • Misdreavus (Gen2)
  • Pichu (Gen2)
  • Remoraid (Gen2)
  • Slugma (Gen2)
  • Togepi (Gen2)

For all the latest video game news follow us on Twitter @IBTGamesUK.

You may be interested in:

By using Yahoo you agree that Yahoo and partners may use Cookies for personalisation and other purposes