Premier League Hall of Fame: 23-man shortlist confirmed after Alan Shearer and Thierry Henry inductions

George Flood
·2-min read
<p>Will Patrick Vieira and Dennis Bergkamp join Thierry Henry in the Premier League Hall of Fame?</p> (Arsenal FC via Getty Images)

Will Patrick Vieira and Dennis Bergkamp join Thierry Henry in the Premier League Hall of Fame?

(Arsenal FC via Getty Images)

The shortlist for the next six places in the Premier League’s newly-created Hall of Fame has been revealed.

On Monday, the Premier League’s all-time leading goalscorer Alan Shearer and Arsenal legend and four-time Golden Boot winner Thierry Henry became the first inductees into the Premier League Hall of Fame, which celebrates the best players to have graced the division since its inception in 1992.

Fans will now have until 6pm BST on Sunday, May 9 to vote for six more Hall of Famers from a shortlist of 23 top-flight greats.

To be eligible for the 2021 Hall of Fame class, players must have retired by August 1, 2020, meaning the likes of Wayne Rooney - who officially ended his playing career in January to become full-time manager of Derby County - will not be considered until 2022.

But Manchester United are still well represented on the shortlist, with Eric Cantona, Paul Scholes, David Beckham, Roy Keane, Rio Ferdinand, Andy Cole, Peter Schmeichel, Robin van Persie and Nemanja Vidic all included.

Ryan Giggs was not on the list, however.

Arsenal legends Patrick Vieira, Tony Adams, Dennis Bergkamp, Ian Wright and Sol Campbell are all vying to join Henry in the Hall of Fame, while Chelsea heroes Didier Drogba, John Terry, Frank Lampard and Ashley Cole are also 2021 candidates.

Steven Gerrard, Michael Owen and Robbie Fowler are the Liverpool contingent, while legendary strikers Les Ferdinand and Matt Le Tissier complete the star-studded 23.

To view this content, you'll need to update your privacy settings.
Please click here to do so.

Premier League Hall of Fame shortlist

Tony Adams

David Beckham

Dennis Bergkamp

Sol Campbell

Eric Cantona

Andy Cole

Ashley Cole

Didier Drogba

Les Ferdinand

Rio Ferdinand

Robbie Fowler

Steven Gerrard

Roy Keane

Frank Lampard

Matt Le Tissier

Michael Owen

Peter Schmeichel

Paul Scholes

John Terry

Robin van Persie

Nemanja Vidic

Patrick Vieira

Ian Wright

Read More

Thierry Henry and Alan Shearer inducted into Premier League Hall of Fame