Revealed: The 13 MPs who voted against Theresa May's bid for a snap General Election

Jessica Morgan
Blocked: Thirteen MPs voted against Theresa May's snap election: PA

Thirteen MPs today voted against Prime Minister Theresa May’s motion calling for an early general election.

Nine of them came from the Labour Party, three were independent and one was a member of the SDLP.

Despite their rebellion, the election will still go ahead on June 8 after Theresa May easily got her motion through the Commons.

From the Labour camp Ronnie Campbell (Blyth Valley), Ann Clwyd (Cynon Valley), Paul Farrelly (Newcastle-under-Lyme) and Jim Fitzpatrick (Poplar and Limehouse) all voted against holding the poll.

Clive Lewis (Norwich South), Fiona Mactaggart (Slough), Liz McInnes (Heywood and Middleton), Dennis Skinner (Bolsover) were also against the motion.

Mr Fitzpatrick, who will stand for re-election, said: "I told my electors I would stand for one more term, I expected to retire in 2020 and clearly I wanted to stick by that so I demonstrated that would have been my first option and first preference.

"Secondly, I think the Prime Minister is taking advantage of her lead in the opinion polls for purely party political advantage, not in the national interest and certainly not in the interests of my constituents, and her misleading the public I thought ought to have been objected to and opposed."

Labour MP Graham Stringer (Blackley and Broughton) blasted his own party for not opposing the snap election and "falling into Theresa May's trap" to boost the Tories and said he had made his mind up after listening to debate within the party.

Other opposing parties also voted against the snap election including three independents, Lady Hermon (North Down), Natalie McGarry (Glasgow East) and Michelle Thomson (Edinburgh West) and SDLP member Alasdair McDonnell (Belfast South).

​Of the 522 MPs who supported the motion, 325 were Conservatives and 174 Labour, resulting in a landslide vote.

Eight of the nine Liberal Democrat MPs voted in favour of the motion, with former leader Nick Clegg the one not listed.

Theresa May announced a shock snap election on Tuesday in a move to improve backing for Brexit.

By using Yahoo you agree that Yahoo and partners may use Cookies for personalisation and other purposes