A special Lord of the Rings reunion hosted by Josh Gad is taking place this weekend

Harry Fletcher
Josh Gad Youtube

The band from Bag End are getting back together this weekend, with the stars of the Lord of the Rings reuniting for a virtual chin-wag.

Some of the biggest names from Peter Jackson’s original fantasy trilogy will be making an appearance together on Sunday, after Josh Gad organised a reunion as part of his Reunited Apart web series.

Elijah Wood (Frodo Baggins), Sean Astin (Samwise Gamgee), Dominic Monaghan (Merry Brandybuck), Billy Boyd (Pippin Took), Orlando Bloom (Legolas), and Ian McKellen (Gandalf) are all involved. For fantasy fans, it doesn’t get much bigger.

A preview of the new Lord of the Rings episode has been posted online. During the amusing clip, Gad persuades Astin to call the other members of the Fellowship, saying: "You fought off an army of Orcs multiple times, escaped from the clutches of the Uruk-hai, wounded the demon spider Shelob, ran away from Gollum all to destroy the most powerful ring in the world. How hard can a f***ing phone call to Elijah Wood be?" The cast arrive one by one, with McKellen and Wood even quoting lines from the films.

The reunion will see the cast look back at their time working on the films, chatting to each other about their experiences and reminiscing about one of the most successful and much-loved film series of all time. Get a taste of what to expect below.

How to watch

The full episode, titled Return of the Kings, will be made available on Sunday May 31 from 5pm UK time (9am PT/12pm ET) on Gad’s YouTube channel.

Return of the Kings is the latest of Gad’s virtual series, and comes after Astin recently took part in a Goonies reunion.

Lord of the Rings became one of the biggest movie franchises of all time in 2003, with The Fellowship of the Ring, The Two Towers and The Return of the King, taking combined box office takings of nearly $3 billion (£2.5b) and winning 17 Academy Awards.