Stratford-on-Avon general election candidates 2024

No caption
-Credit: (Image: No credit)

Stratford-on-Avon is getting a new MP in the 2024 General Election - whoever wins. Nadhim Zahawi has announced he is standing down as the Conservative MP for the town.

Stratford-on-Avon has been a Tory seat since 1997 - which means Labour didn't manage to win in the Blair years. Last time round, Zahawi polled more than 60 per cent of the vote with the Liberal Democrats in second place.

This time round, Chris Clarkson is standing for the Conservatives. It comes at a time when Rishi Sunak is under significant pressure, despite the Tories winning an 80-seat majority last time round.

The good news for Sunak is Electoral Calculus thinks the Conservatives will win this time round. The constituency is it is centred on the town of Stratford-upon-Avon but also takes in the surrounding areas around the town, including the towns of Alcester and Henley-in-Arden.

Who is standing in Stratford-on-Avon?

  • Seyi Agboola - Labour

  • Chris Clarkson - Conservatives

  • James Crocker - Reform UK

  • Neil O'Neil - NONPOL

  • Manuela Perteghella - Liberal Democrats

  • Doug Rouxel - Green Party

  • Kevim Taylor - Independent