Boris Johnson unveils new Government after brutal Cabinet cull

Boris Johnson has formed his new Government after a brutal cull of ministers which saw a host of top Tories ousted from their posts.

Sajid Javid was given the job of Chancellor while Priti Patel was confirmed as Home Secretary, taking Mr Javid’s vacated chair.

Dominic Raab is the new Foreign Secretary, taking the last of the three most prestigious Cabinet positions.

The three top Government jobs were given to Sajid Javid, Dominic Raab and Priti Patel
The three top Government jobs were given to Sajid Javid, Dominic Raab and Priti Patel

Michael Gove was given the job of Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, a position that amounts to Mr Johnson’s deputy.

Stephen Barclay kept his job as Brexit Secretary while Grant Shapps was appointed Transport Secretary.

All of the Prime Minister’s choices for the top Cabinet jobs are Brexiteers.

Mr Raab and Ms Patel are supporters of no deal while Michael Gove led the Vote Leave campaign alongside Mr Johnson.

File photo dated 01/06/16 of Michael Gove and Boris Johnson (right) on the Vote Leave campaign bus. Mr Johnson has been elected by Conservative party members as the new party leader, and will become the next Prime Minister of the United Kingdom.
Michael Gove and Boris Johnson on the Vote Leave campaign bus. Mr Johnson appointed Mr Gove as his de facto deputy in his new Government (PA Images)

The major overhaul, which began shortly after Mr Johnson officially became Prime Minister, saw more than half of Theresa May’s Cabinet replaced in one of the most brutal clear-outs in decades.

Amber Rudd remained as Work and Pensions Secretary, Andrea Leadsom was made Business, Energy and Industrial strategy secretary and Nicky Morgan was handed the role of digital, culture, media and sport secretary.

Gavin Williamson became Education Secretary, Matt Hancock remained Health Secretary and Theresa Villiers was appointed Environment Secretary.

Jeremy Hunt, Mr Johnson’s rival in the leadership contest, confirmed he was quitting after not being offered the role of Foreign Secretary.

The full Cabinet so far is as follows:

Chancellor of the Exchequer - Sajid Javid

Home Secretary - Priti Patel

Foreign Secretary - Dominic Raab

Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster - Michael Gove

Brexit Secretary - Steve Barclay

Work and Pensions Secretary - Amber Rudd

International Trade Secretary - Liz Truss

Defence Secretary - Ben Wallace

Transport Secretary - Grant Shapps

Education Secretary - Gavin Williamson

Attorney General - Geoffrey Cox

Justice Secretary - Robert Buckland

Health Secretary - Matt Hancock

Environment Secretary - Theresa Villiers

Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Secretary - Nicky Morgan

Housing, communities and local government secretary - Robert Jenrick

Business, energy and industrial strategy secretary - Andrea Leadsom

International Development Secretary - Alok Sharma

Welsh Secretary - Alun Cairns

Northern Ireland Secretary - Julian Smith

Scottish Secretary - Alister Jack

The new PM’s reshuffle turned out to be more savage and extensive than predicted with a number of surprise departures - including some staunch Brexiteers thought to be safe.

The departures were:

SACKED: Jeremy Hunt, Foreign Secretary

SACKED: Penny Mordaunt, Defence Secretary

SACKED: Liam Fox, International Trade Secretary

SACKED: Greg Clark, Business Secretary

SACKED: Damian Hinds, Education Secretary

SACKED: James Brokenshire, Housing Secretary

SACKED: Karen Bradley, Northern Ireland Secretary

SACKED: Caroline Nokes, Immigration Minister

SACKED: David Mundell, Scotland Secretary

SACKED: Jeremy Wright, Culture Secretary

SACKED: Mel Stride, Commons Leader

RESIGNED: Chris Grayling, Transport Secretary

RESIGNED: Philip Hammond, Chancellor

RESIGNED: Rory Stewart, International Development Secretary

RESIGNED: David Gauke, Justice Secretary

RESIGNED: David Lidington, Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster

Ms Mourdant, who was tipped to keep her position, tweeted: “I’m heading to the backbenches from where the PM will have my full support, as will my successors at @DefenceHQ & @WomenEqualities.”

Eurosceptic Mr Fox made it clear he was pushed out of the door against his will, saying: “Sadly, I will be leaving the Government. It has been a privilege to have served as Secretary of State for International Trade these past 3 years.”

Mr Clark, who has spoken out against no deal and was rumoured to be on the verge of quitting earlier, said: “I warmly congratulate Boris Johnson on becoming Prime Minister. He is right to appoint a new team for a new premiership and I wish him and them well for the vital work ahead.”

The sackings came after four cabinet ministers resigned from the Government today ahead of Johnson’s reshuffle.

Three cabinet ministers resigned ahead of Boris Johnson's coronation as PM (PA Images)
Philip Hammond, David Gauke and Rory Stewart all resigned ahead of Boris Johnson's coronation as PM (PA Images)

Chancellor Philip Hammond, International Development Secretary Rory Stewart, Justice Secretary David Gauke and de facto Deputy Prime Minister David Lidington all handed in their notice after May’s final Prime Minister’s Questions.

Hammond, Stewart and Gauke had already said publicly they could not serve under a Prime Minister who supports a no-deal Brexit.

The resignations were largely symbolic. Mr Johnson would have sacked the three ministers and replaced them with his own supporters anyway.

All will continue to work as MPs and are likely to cause trouble for the new Prime Minister from the backbenches.

Mr Hammond led the exodus and said it had been a “privilege” to serve as Chancellor under Theresa May.

Confirming his resignation on Twitter, former leadership candidate Rory Stewart posted an image of Sky News reporting his departure with an upside down smiley emoji.

Mr Gauke thanked Theresa May and reiterated his opposition to no deal.

He said: “Given Boris’s stated policy of leaving the EU by 31 October at all costs, I am not willing to serve in his Government.

“I believe I can most effectively make the case against a no deal Brexit from the backbenches.”

Two ministers, Sir Alan Duncan and Anne Milton, resigned earlier in the week, citing concerns over leaving the UK without a deal.

— Watch the latest videos from Yahoo UK —