Tottenham's Hugo Lloris named Goalkeeper of the Year at 2017 London Football Awards

Getty Images

Tottenham's Hugo Lloris has been named Goalkeeper of the Year at the 2017 London Football Awards.

The France international picks up the award for the first time, beating past winner Thibaut Courtois, West Ham's Darren Randolph, Alex Smithies of QPR and Millwall's Jordan Archer, formerly of Spurs.

Lloris helped Tottenham to a highest-ever position of third in the Premier League last season, missing out on second place on the final day, having conceded just league-low 35 goals in 38 games.

Spurs boast a similarly impressive defensive record this term, currently occupying second place as the club look to qualify for the Champions League for the second successive season, with just 18 goal conceded after 25 games.

Lloris signed a new contract at White Hart Lane in December, which runs until 2022, to become the 11th senior player to recommitt to the club this season.

Toscafund Asset Management LLP is a proud sponsor of the London Football Awards. Toscafund is a leading multi-asset manager based in London with additional offices in Manchester and Greenwich, Connecticut. Go to