Uefa ordered to cancel legal action against European Super League rebels Real Madrid, Barcelona and Juventus

·1-min read
 (AFP via Getty Images)
(AFP via Getty Images)

Uefa has been ordered to cancel all legal punishments after Real Madrid, Barcelona and Juventus for planning the creation of the European Super League.

A Spanish court has ruled that the three clubs, the only founders remaining from the original 12, must not face any sanctions from European football governing body.

The three clubs had been facing a potential ban from the Champions League for their roles in the potential breakaway league.

Uefa confirmed last month that discussions over any sanctions would be delayed for the foreeable future.

The six Premier League clubs who signed up, and then withdrew, from the Super League were hit with settlements from the Premier League.

Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United and Tottenham agreed to pay a total of £22 million, with a further £20m fine and 30-point deduction hanging over their heads if they attempt another breakaway league.

Those six, plus AC Milan, Inter Milan and Atletico Madrid, have also agreed a combined £13.4m goodwill contribution to benefit children's and grassroots football across Europe.

As it stands, the three standing by the ESL are the only clubs yet to face any sanctions.

Read More

Tottenham have no option to re-sign Gareth Bale, confirms agent

Bale cools retirement talk after Wales’ Euros exit

Xhaka ‘heartbroken’ to miss Euros quarter-final but backs Swiss upset